Circuit Panel Questions... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 07:51 AM   #1
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Question

Circuit panel questions...


http://wtfisgmail.com/stuff/dsc06958.jpg

There are two bars, on the left and on the right. The wires that are connected are neutral and ground.

I thought there should be bars for the nuetral and a ground bar. It looks like I have two neutral bars used as a ground?

I have indoor wiring with a hot, neutral and a bare ground. Install wire, connect hot to the breaker, and the neutral and ground will go on the same bar???

Can someone explain?
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 08:11 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 968
Default


At the main panel, or first point of disconnect, the neutral and ground are bonded together.
As long as you only have one wire under each screw, you will be fine.
If this is a subpanel, then the neutral and grounds are not bonded and must remain seperate.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 08:26 AM   #3
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default


It's the main panel.
Yes, I knew they were bonded, but I thought it was unacceptable anywhere else.

No concerns under high load (not in the red)?

Thanks!

Last edited by erb; 06-09-2010 at 08:46 AM.
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2010, 11:41 AM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


So, the main connectors to this panel come from the meter - yes? From the meter to the panel you should have three wires all the same size. Two black hots, I see those, to the main breaker and one white neutral to the neutral bar (black with white tape OK). The other bar, even though bonded to the neutral, will have a ground wire to the building ground. Do you have this configuration?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 12:44 PM   #5
erb
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Yes, I believe so.
erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Breaker Panel Questions AvalonGirl Electrical 10 06-02-2010 10:20 AM
120 v circuit from 230 volt panel mills372 Electrical 3 09-07-2009 11:13 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts