Circuit Breakers Shutting Off - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 08:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Circuit breakers shutting off


Help! We are having a problem with several of our circuits randomly shutting off. The breakers do not trip and they come back on themselves. They will be off for a few seconds up to a couple hours. Two of them are 220 and two are 110.
suzieshobbyfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 08:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by suzieshobbyfarm View Post
several of our circuits randomly shutting off.
The breakers do not trip
They will be off for a few seconds up to a couple hours. Two of them are 220 and two are 110.
You need to check your connection integrity with a DVM and a 1A [incand. bulb] or a 10A [hair dryer or toaster] load. It's about 5 minutes per outlet. For the 240v you need an elec. dryer or elec. oven.

The default fix would be to tighten the connections at your circuit breakers but watch out for arc-flash.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-31-2010 at 08:11 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Is this something I can do or do I need an electrician? How do I do this?

Thanks!
Suzie
suzieshobbyfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 08:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by suzieshobbyfarm View Post
Is this something I can do or do I need an electrician? How do I do this?

Thanks!
Suzie
You need to know how to use a DVM.
If an outlet works with a small lamp but will not power a hair dryer it is likely a bad connection. Run the hair dryer just long enough to see that it works or doesn't work.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-31-2010 at 09:10 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 10:11 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,854
Rewards Points: 24,050
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Since more than one circuit seems to be involved the problem is most likely on the main. You need to call to POCO and have them check all their connections between the panel and the pole.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 10:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Each time it happens, is it the same group of circuits that are affected and all of them at the same time?

Can you make a note of which ones they are? This might reveal that it is one leg of the incoming 120/240 volt circuit that is at fault.

Feel the breakers including the main breaker. Is(are) any of them noticeably warmer than the rest? This is a telltale sign of a loose connection.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:11 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by suzieshobbyfarm View Post
Help! We are having a problem with several of our circuits randomly shutting off. The breakers do not trip and they come back on themselves. They will be off for a few seconds up to a couple hours. Two of them are 220 and two are 110.


You have loose connection first thing is you call the POCO first they will come out and check their side first once that clear up then do the load centre inspection next.

Due you say it will be off for few seconds to couple hours this is very important to call the POCO right now once that done then you may have loose conneciton at the main breaker as well.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 12:34 PM
Circuit Breakers Unregistered Electrical 4 09-13-2004 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts