Cimping Ground Wires Together? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-28-2010, 05:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default

cimping ground wires together?


in stead of the wire-nut, is it code acceptable today to crimp a small copper sleeve (bushing) on ground wires twisted together? i have seen that in numerous boxes in my house.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2010, 05:53 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


As long as the proper tool is used to make the crimps this is a recognized method to connect the grounding wires.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-28-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2010, 08:01 PM   #3
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 196
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Yes, okay to use crimp sleeves, but if you use them, place the crimp about 5-6 inches along the wires so you can access it outside of the box. All of my devices are crimped at 2-3 inches making it very difficult to remove when adding/extending a circuit. The can be a real PITA.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2010, 09:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default


ya, it was....that is how i discovered the crimp the first time...had to replace a box and had hell of a time undoing the crimp which was not even 2 inches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jupe Blue View Post
Yes, okay to use crimp sleeves, but if you use them, place the crimp about 5-6 inches along the wires so you can access it outside of the box. All of my devices are crimped at 2-3 inches making it very difficult to remove when adding/extending a circuit. The can be a real PITA.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:42 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I agree with Jim that buchanan crimp sleeves are just fine for mechanically tying grounds together, and that the proper crimp tool (the Ideal C24 crimping tool) should be used. That being said, a lot of electricians use other means of crimping them such as crimping pliers. I've never found proof positive that doing that isn't permitted, but the intent of the product is to properly crimp it from all 4 directions at once with the C24. I have one and it works awesome.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Termite For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (05-28-2010)
Old 05-29-2010, 02:53 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
I agree with Jim that buchanan crimp sleeves are just fine for mechanically tying grounds together, and that the proper crimp tool (the Ideal C24 crimping tool) should be used. That being said, a lot of electricians use other means of crimping them such as crimping pliers. I've never found proof positive that doing that isn't permitted, but the intent of the product is to properly crimp it from all 4 directions at once with the C24. I have one and it works awesome.
KC.,

Accoruding to my Buchanan copper crimp sleeve it did listed two tools one is C24 which I know it is a 4 indents crimping and also it did listed with specific lineman pliers as well.

The main part is I always look the packing box to see the listing in there if any change I will make a note of it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM
Sub Panel Grounding Question. RobertS Electrical 63 02-27-2008 01:50 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts