Changing In-Wall Timer - Clueless But Determined - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 03:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Changing In-Wall Timer - Clueless but Determined


Hello all,

New to the forum. New to trying wiring myself but I would love to try this seemingly simple project to get my "feet wet" -- probably bad when said in relation to electrical things but ya know what I mean. I'm a complete, utter newb to any of this but it would give me a great sense of accomplishment to do this myself instead of calling someone for what would probably take 10 minutes to do. Please forgive me in advance if I don't use the correct lingo.

Anyway, I've got an old in-wall Intermatic timer that I'd like to replace with a new Aube/Honeywell in-wall timer. It's going in a two switch box.

I've taken the lightswitch plate off the wall to see what I'm dealing with: Currently 4 conduit feed into the box, the P.O.S. Intermatic Timer and the light switch. The Intermatic controls our outside lights (2 garage lights and one porch light).

I've got the new Honeywell timer and a Klein Non-Contact Voltage tester. (And I know I've got to turn the power off at the panel). Other than that, I'm pretty clueless... but!

I've made a diagram -- albeit unprofessional -- which shows what wires are going where. If anyone thinks they could possibly make heads or tails of what I should do, then I'd be glad to scan and post it? EDIT: Added diagram attachment!

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Changing In-Wall Timer - Clueless but Determined-wiringdiagramtimer.jpg  

Last edited by MissOutandAbout; 07-27-2010 at 03:33 PM.
MissOutandAbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2010, 06:29 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


What does the light switch do, a completely different light?

Do this:

Black to cap 1
Blue to cap 3
White to cap 2

Try that out, see if it works.

The new timer needs a neutral, that's what the white wire is for.

BTW, your diagram is EXCELLENT. Neat, concise.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
MissOutandAbout (07-31-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2010, 06:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
What does the light switch do, a completely different light?

Do this:

Black to cap 1
Blue to cap 3
White to cap 2

Try that out, see if it works.

The new timer needs a neutral, that's what the white wire is for.

BTW, your diagram is EXCELLENT. Neat, concise.
Wahoooo, thanks Proby -- you rock!

Sorry, I forgot to mention: yes, that toggle light switch is for our interior hallway light. The only thing that current Intermatic is controlling are the 3 outside lights. Can't wait to replace the old timer, it really is crappy.

I will try your instructions out this weekend when the hubby's around in case I fry myself at least he can watch the kiddo.

After I *hopefully* get it working this weekend and don't kill myself, I'll come back and post an update.
MissOutandAbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2010, 05:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up


Heya Proby,

Just wanted to stop by and say ... IT WORKED!
I didn't fry and/or kill myself (obviously because I'm able to use my PC). Hooked it up just as you said and now we've got a new, non-POS in-wall timer. The longest bit of time was actually trying to stuff the wires back into the box -- oh, and trying to get my hubby to find which breaker to switch off.

Anyway, huge thank you to you -- ya rock, Proby!

Cheers,
Misa
MissOutandAbout is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MissOutandAbout For This Useful Post:
Proby (07-31-2010)
Old 07-31-2010, 05:52 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


I'm glad it worked out and everyone is safe.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 6 05-19-2017 04:53 PM
Advice on retaining wall replacement (pics inside) eastie Building & Construction 0 04-05-2010 10:32 AM
Adding drainage to existing retaining wall? pcballgame Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 04-14-2009 03:29 PM
having trouble with a wall timer that will not switch kenny357 Electrical 4 08-06-2008 02:49 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Building & Construction 1 11-05-2006 01:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts