CFL In A Range Hood?????? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-04-2010, 07:10 PM   #1
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default

CFL in a Range Hood??????


Hello again everyone,

Anyone know if it's safe to use a CFL bulb in a Range Hood?
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 07:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Rewards Points: 500
Default


I hope so... I've done this for two years or so..
Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 08:16 PM   #3
DIY Home owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default


had one in mine for over two years, worked till I took my hood out for an over the range microwave.
wherm5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2010, 09:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default


my mother installed one in our rangehood in 1991 - it lasted until 2007
RTypeEman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 01:10 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I have no issue with my range hood having CFL in there and I know few customer done the same thing they stick in larger "wattage " in there than standard max bulbs from factory however becareful to sizing due some of them may not take CFL at all.


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 04:33 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


As long as your hood does not incorporate a dimmer in its wiring, then it should be fine.

Some of the higher-end hoods have multi-position light switches that employ a dimmer. Do not use standard CFLs in such a fixture.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:27 PM   #7
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default


Thanks for all the help again guys. I'll have to go get some more CFL's Tomorrow.
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 08:28 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,453
Rewards Points: 506
Default


Usually, the basic restrictions to using CFL's is if it's being dimmed and physically fitting into the device. There are some CFL's that are dimmable though. Usually for can lights. I put CFL's in my bath fans...had to remove a metal shield and tweak the position of the lamp socket a bit, but all is good. Not necessarily something I recommend to the inexperienced, but in my case, it worked fine.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Rusty N HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts