Can I Continue Past The GFI ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-27-2009, 11:23 AM   #1
Member
 
HABSFAN2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I continue past the GFI ?


I have 14-3 and a 14-2 going into the GFI box in my small downstairs bathroom. This circuit only includes a switch, the GFI plug, and the bathroom light. Can I run a new 14-2 from the GFI plug (push in type) to run it to another plug on the opposite wall, then to a dimmer switch to control 2 x 3" pot lights? If so, would it be better to use wire nuts & pig tail to the GFI plug, or just use the additional available holes on the GFI for the new 14-2 heading to the new plug?
I want to make sure there will be no problems with the dimmer switch being on the same circuit as the GFI?

I have limited access for running new circuits, and this would be the easiest way to do it. It is a secondary small bath in the basement.


Thanks for your input...
__________________
Life is an experience... Learn from it!
HABSFAN2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2009, 12:20 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Sounds good to me. Just make sure that outlet is on the LOAD side of the GFI and not the LINE side, since it's still in the bathroom.

To be up to code, that's supposed to be a 20 amp circuit with 12 gauge wire, but I won't tell if you don't. Just make sure the breaker matches the wire.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2009, 12:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,013
Rewards Points: 528
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default


The way I understand it, this would be a code violation to route the bathroom circuit outside of the bathroom. The outlet in the bathroom must not be connected with any other circuit, the bathroom lights however can be attached to another circuit in the area. If the bath lights and outlet are on the same circuit, this circuit cannot leave the bathroom area.

Run a new circuit for your new outlet and lights.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2009, 12:29 PM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Oh, yeah you are right, that circuit is supposed to be for outlets only. For some reason I stopped reading after I saw "new outlet on the opposite wall" (which I assumed was still in the bathroom).

Edit- Actually if he's going to run a new circuit, he should pull a 12 gauge home run to bring his bathroom outlet circuit up to code, and use the existing 14 for the lights and any outlets outside of the bathroom. Might as well fix it all at once.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 12:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,013
Rewards Points: 528
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Oh, yeah you are right, that circuit is supposed to be for outlets only. For some reason I stopped reading after I saw "new outlet on the opposite wall" (which I assumed was still in the bathroom).

Edit- Actually if he's going to run a new circuit, he should pull a 12 gauge home run to bring his bathroom outlet circuit up to code, and use the existing 14 for the lights and any outlets outside of the bathroom. Might as well fix it all at once.
That would certainly work. I've never had a problem with the lights and outlet of a bathroom sharing its own circuit, but there is nothing wrong with the outlet being on its own circuit. It is a NEC approved setup and without doing a lot of re-wiring of the lights and fan (changing wire to 12 gauge) the outlet is the easiest fix.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


A bathroom is required to have a dedicated 20 12g circuit
If it supplies only one bathroom it can supply everything in that bathroom
Excluding devices that require their own circuit: jacuzzi tub heater, walll heater etc
If it feeds multiple bathrooms then it can only feed the outlets
Dedicated bathroom circuits can't feed other rooms/areas

If the 14g was pre-existing you are not required to bring it up to code
I'm not sure if/when it was ever code to have a 14g circuit?

Usually if you touch an old circuit you are then required to bring it up to code

Myself I'd run a new 20a 12g run for an outlet (panel space allowing)
Then tap the existing outlet for the new lights



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:50 PM   #7
Member
 
HABSFAN2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Thanks for the reply guys. You guys are all in the US, I'm in Canada, same rules apply for GFI I assume. I know my kitchen circuits are 20A's & gfi.
If the above is not the ideal setup, I have one other option, as mentionned I don't have easy access everywhere at this point anymore,
I could tap off a single plug 15A circuit which has an electric fireplace (1400w) and add one plug, and one dimmer switch for those two potlights.
Would this be a better/up to code scenario?
__________________
Life is an experience... Learn from it!
HABSFAN2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:51 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Poster is from Canada so we may not be 100% correct on what he can and cannot do. I think our codes are similar to the CEC in this area.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:32 PM   #9
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
I could tap off a single plug 15A circuit which has an electric fireplace (1400w) and add one plug, and one dimmer switch for those two potlights.
Would this be a better/up to code scenario?
No, leave that circuit alone. It's already too close to being maxed out.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Oops - missed the Canada part
You need to check with someone familiar with local codes
Do you have a local Town building Dept?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:36 PM   #11
Member
 
HABSFAN2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
No, leave that circuit alone. It's already too close to being maxed out.

your absolutely right. did the math after i posted, and it's close to being maxed out ( that's why original intent was to have the 1400w alone on it's own circuit)

thanks.
__________________
Life is an experience... Learn from it!
HABSFAN2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:49 AM   #12
Member
 
HABSFAN2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 158
Rewards Points: 150
Default


alright, I ran a new circuit for all that was req'd, thanks to all for your inputs.
__________________
Life is an experience... Learn from it!
HABSFAN2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tub leaking past shower curtain Outbacker Plumbing 8 12-10-2010 04:15 PM
The past owner's work count against me during inspections? dwo Electrical 7 07-23-2009 11:50 AM
Contractor collecting past due accounts hvaclover HVAC 6 04-21-2009 12:44 PM
windows jamb sticks out past drywall tk3 Remodeling 2 11-28-2006 06:12 AM
contractor past jobs jmthouston General DIY Discussions 1 10-16-2006 05:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts