Can This Clamp Be Used With Romex ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-03-2014, 09:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Can this clamp be used with Romex ?


Hello,

I have a silly question ... I'm running new 12AWG in my garage to metal boxes and the clamps are different on some of the receptacle boxes. Some simply push against the cable to keep it place, and others have the clamp in the attached image. Can this be used with ROMEX, or is this for BX only? Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Can this clamp be used with Romex ?-cable_clamps.jpg  
Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2014, 06:54 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,205
Rewards Points: 896
Default


Nope. AC or MC (BX).
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2014, 07:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
Hello,

I have a silly question ... I'm running new 12AWG in my garage to metal boxes and the clamps are different on some of the receptacle boxes. Some simply push against the cable to keep it place, and others have the clamp in the attached image. Can this be used with ROMEX, or is this for BX only? Thank you
You could trim that clamp with a side cutter or tin snips. Take the clamp out, snip the two pieces that turn into the circles, make sure those snipped pieces are not sharp and hopefully gone. Put it back in the box.

Make it look like this clamp.
Attached Thumbnails
Can this clamp be used with Romex ?-rx-strap.jpg  
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
ront02769 (07-03-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2014, 08:12 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 11,205
Rewards Points: 896
Default


Return the boxes and get ones with NM clamps.

Any reason you are not using plastic boxes?

Cutting the clamps is a modification of a listed debice. An AHJ could call you on it.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2017 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 219
Default


Thanks, that's what I thought. The container these boxes came out of actually said BX & NM clamps. I stared at those clamps and couldn't figure out how I would thread NM through it. I went back to Home Depot and they let me grab a few of the NM clamps in exchange for those.

The reason for the metal boxes is because it's my garage. Not sure it that's a good reason or not, but the whole house is metal ... and mostly BX, except for what I've been running. Thanks
Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:35 PM   #6
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 14,483
Rewards Points: 3,932
Default


Looks like you have already solved your question.

I just wanted to comment on your name.


I LIKE IT

ed
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:47 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 219
Default


I sometimes use Louie DePalma as well :-)
Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:49 PM   #8
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 14,483
Rewards Points: 3,932
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
I sometimes use Louie DePalma as well :-)
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 12:36 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Return the boxes and get ones with NM clamps.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Any reason you are not using plastic boxes?



Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Cutting the clamps is a modification of a listed debice. An AHJ could call you on it.

ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
clamp , romex


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable clamp for 1/2 inch knockout and 10/3 romex? mikegp Electrical 9 02-19-2013 07:32 PM
2 romex in 1 clamp ? Fix'n it Electrical 6 09-03-2012 10:15 AM
How to build a romex spinner jimmy21 Electrical 17 02-06-2012 12:01 AM
how many wires through each Romex clamp? Tra Electrical 1 10-04-2010 12:23 PM
Is metallic ceiling box OK for Romex? Ultrarunner2017 Electrical 6 12-04-2009 12:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts