Can A Apartment Duplex's Ground Wire Feed Off The Neighbors Ground Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-20-2015, 12:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 101
Default

Can a apartment duplex's ground wire feed off the neighbors ground wire?


I live in a duplex and my main breaker box is grounded. My neighbor's main breaker box (which is right next to my main breaker box) is NOT grounded. Obviously there are two electrical meters, therefore we have our own electrical bill.

Is it legal for them to run a ground wire from my main breaker box to his main breaker box so he will have a ground?

Obviously this is the easiest way to do it since both of the breaker boxes are side by side. That would take minutes to do. The other way is for him to run his own ground wire to his own ground rod. That would take hours.

thanks in advance!!

Last edited by stanlam; 12-20-2015 at 12:43 PM.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2015, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Whats wrong with it now?
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2015, 12:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 101
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
Whats wrong with it now?
I guess there is nothing technically wrong with their electrical since it works fine.

However, to answer your question, it's just because their main breaker box is NOT grounded. I think the electrician that put in their breaker box must of forgot to ground their breaker box.

Last edited by stanlam; 12-20-2015 at 01:12 PM.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2015, 01:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
I guess there is nothing technically wrong with their electrical since it works fine.

However, to answer your question, it's just because their main breaker box is NOT grounded. I think the electrician that put in their breaker box must of forgot to ground their breaker box.

Per code the electrician should have looped the GEC into you neighbors panel, but from a safety and operations standpoint their is really no worry.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 02:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,039
Rewards Points: 2,084
Blog Entries: 1
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
I live in a duplex and my main breaker box is grounded. My neighbor's main breaker box (which is right next to my main breaker box) is NOT grounded. Obviously there are two electrical meters, therefore we have our own electrical bill.

Is it legal for them to run a ground wire from my main breaker box to his main breaker box so he will have a ground?

Obviously this is the easiest way to do it since both of the breaker boxes are side by side. That would take minutes to do. The other way is for him to run his own ground wire to his own ground rod. That would take hours.

thanks in advance!!
I am guessing that there is only one service drop to this house and that is split between two meters. In that case one grounding electrode conductor is all that is needed as long as everything is bonded together. Take the covers off and see if you can follow the grounding conductor.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:33 PM   #6
ER2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northern Canada
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 70
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
I guess there is nothing technically wrong with their electrical since it works fine.

However, to answer your question, it's just because their main breaker box is NOT grounded. I think the electrician that put in their breaker box must of forgot to ground their breaker box.
The only place your system should be grounded is at the service entry point. What makes you think it's not grounded? I assume you mean bonded.
ER2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ER2 For This Useful Post:
Jump-start (12-20-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching ground wire to metal box trips breaker lmm Electrical 30 07-23-2014 12:36 PM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
Running new(up to code) ground wire & protection. MikeSF Electrical 25 07-04-2010 04:33 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts