California Home Power Limits? (5+ Computers In 1 Room) - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 10-01-2014, 11:39 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 24
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by iLikeDirt View Post
Are you mining Bitcoins or something? If so, your machines are going to be using a huge amount of power if you're actually making any money on it.
mining bitcoins? never heard of that before lol, in fact i dont even know what a bitcoin is, i believe a online currency, but didnt know you could "mine" for it haha. I'll have to look into that tho :P


I'm running 4 virtual machines on each computer. Processory is usualy running at 70%-95%. Computer runs 24/7.
jazzman170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2014, 08:12 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 1,306
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzman170
Haha your correct! I was planning for 16 computer's all on my desk (which i was able to figure out a placement for that many). Just the 3 i have running now gets warm if the swamp cooler isnt on in the kitchen, but since its winter time practically all i have to do is open window and throw a fan in to blow all the freezing air inside. As for summer, swamp cooler Works like a charm and never gets hot in this room (so far) Power wise i give payment of $20 per computer per month.
Ok so you are running a 24/365 server farm for some apparently important purpose. You're going to cram it into a bedroom and your HVAC scheme is to remember to open the window and turn on a fan on cool days and hot days overcool the rest of the house in hopes of keeping the gear safe. That doesn't seem too robust. What happens when you are not home?

Suggest you put gear in largest room you have and add more AC (maybe a window unit) running to take up bulk of load. I wouldn't sleep in there if I were you.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2014, 08:55 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 156
Rewards Points: 133
Default


I'm morbidly curious to know what you're doing on the four VMs on each of these machines in the bedroom you're renting from your mother that's maxing out the processors.
iLikeDirt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to iLikeDirt For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (10-02-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2014, 10:23 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 332
Default


World of Warcraft?
sgip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:37 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by sgip2000 View Post
World of Warcraft?
Those games get to be additive
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
computer room , power source , power strip


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power to my outlets in one room. phillipbenson Electrical 1 05-17-2013 05:22 PM
Room without power? alphid Electrical 2 11-24-2011 10:43 AM
Rewiring room for computers JoeyBradshaw Electrical 4 11-08-2011 03:18 PM
1st home, looking for living room ideas! sassyangel1986 Interior Decorating 5 02-28-2011 02:35 AM
One room cold- what pipes are what...help cciampi HVAC 24 02-20-2011 11:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts