Cable Wire Add On - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-25-2010, 04:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Cable Wire Add on


Have a chance for a steal of a deal (about 1/3 the price) for #2 Aluminum cable that is supposedly direct burial. I was looking to use such for a feeder line to a sub panel in a barn however, it would be short and would need to extend.

As I was planning on encasing in conduit anyway (due to other issues here), can this cable be SAFELY added on to by one of those little extender items that you put cable in each side and each as a set screw to tighten down? if so, what is the additional prep needed? some kind of sealer or heat tape or something like electrical tape?

May not make sense in the long run but would hate to pass up deal if safely and properly doable.

thoughts?
MeanGene is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2010, 09:32 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,171
Rewards Points: 986
Default


A splice must be inside an approved box and accessible
A splice can not be made inside the conduit.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2010, 08:47 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default


thanks....and that is understood. my question was more along the lines of can it screw down type of connectors be used? if not, what can be used for #2 cable splicing;
MeanGene is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2010, 01:22 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,171
Rewards Points: 986
Default


Any kind of approved method.
Split bolts, polaris connectors are two that come to mind.
They must be approved to handle AL wire.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
MeanGene (06-28-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing my 150 amp wire to 200 amp due to bad cable loosewire Electrical 6 12-21-2009 04:52 PM
Need Advice Old Metal NM Cable Anchors bltglt507 Electrical 15 12-18-2009 04:31 PM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
fault in old bx 2 wire cable switch loop scire Electrical 1 10-25-2009 01:16 PM
Real Basic Electrical question re: neutral wire hellothere123 Electrical 22 07-21-2009 06:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts