Bypassing A Thermal Overload Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-12-2013, 07:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bypassing a thermal overload switch?


I just bought a new to me compressor, and the motor runs fine. But after its under a bit of load it trips the thermal overload switch. I can hit the button, and it will run for a bit again and just trip. The motor doesn't seem to get too hot, so I think the switch might be bad. The switch has 3 prongs. two of the prongs have yellow wires. And the third has a purple and grey wire on it. Can I just put all 4 wires together? Or is there something else I need? I found this pdf http://catalog.wegelectric.com/img/Wiring_Diagrams.pdf My current motor has the second one down on the left on the single phase motors. Can I wire it to the 4th one down that says it's without the thermal overload? I have no problem buying a new switch. I just want to make sure the motor is good first. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Onelowburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2013, 07:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 150
Default


The switch is tripping for a reason. If you bypass the switch, what do you think will happen to the wires
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2013, 07:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I understand that it is tripping for a reason. But before I spend the money and wait for a new switch, that I might not need. I want to make sure the motor is good. I know that there could possibly be something wrong with the motor, and worse case, I melt some wire and pop the breaker. But I would rather spend some time on a hunch, that the thermal overload is bad and save the time waiting for a part, only to find something else might be wrong.
Onelowburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2013, 10:38 AM   #4
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


How large is the compressor motor?

In some instances, the sensor can be eliminated from the motor circuit. However, an overload relay must be used in lieu of the temp/sensor.
In very small fractional HP motors, the switch or OL relay may not be important.
It is the manufacture that determines what is required.
The manufacturer of your motor requires the temp switch.

So pick your poison. Replace the temp switch or buy and install an OL relay.

The temp switch is to protect the motor, not the wiring. Just because a motor is available without the thermal switch does not mean you can use your motor without one.
The motor without the thermal switch requires an OL relay in most cases.

To test the motor.
Jump out the temp sensor/switch and start the motor. Check the voltage and current with the motor at full load.
If all looks good/right using the motor nameplate information, order the replacement sensor/switch or OL relay.

If you do not care about the motor, leave the switch jumped out and hope for the best.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 10:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,666
Rewards Points: 18,470
Default


Loose or undersized wiring, bad motor bearings can cause this.
Checked it while running with a non contact amp. meter yet?
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001BDVDJM/...SIN=B001BDVDJM
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagram for 3 way ceiling fan light switch Aurora65 Electrical 22 11-27-2012 09:11 AM
taco sr503-4 switch jmon HVAC 53 11-12-2012 06:26 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts