Brewers, Electricians, Lend Me Your Ear! GFCI Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-16-2008, 02:28 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Brewers, Electricians, lend me your ear! GFCI problem


Hey guys, first post here.. i was told to post here and see if you all could help me with my problem..

I am having problems with GFCI outlet in my garage..
please visit this post http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=69334

at my homebrew forum where i originally asked about my problem.. i just didn't want to type it all out again..

thanks!
aekdbbop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2008, 02:37 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,561
Rewards Points: 6,676
Default


JAKlassen gave the best advice. It could be a faulty gfci, or you are leaking current from the temp controller. You can not replace the gfci with a standard outlet. For less than $13 you can replace the gfci and if it still trips, the you would need to look at the controller or fridge.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2008, 02:38 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I would first take it OFF the gfi. How many places is the gfi protecting downstream? Is this wired up to protect a single or multiple locations ??
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-16-2008, 02:40 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


from what i know, there are only 2 outlets in the garage.. and both trip when i plug it in with the temp controller..
aekdbbop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 02:41 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
JAKlassen gave the best advice. It could be a faulty gfci, or you are leaking current from the temp controller. You can not replace the gfci with a standard outlet. For less than $13 you can replace the gfci and if it still trips, the you would need to look at the controller or fridge.
which should i replace?
aekdbbop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 04:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 322
Default


I was under the impression all garage outlets are supposed to be GFCI?
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 58 07-03-2015 05:46 AM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM
fused disconnect and/or GFCI ? pchiz Electrical 8 12-21-2007 10:02 AM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts