Blank Cover Doesn't Line Up With Box Extender - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-02-2014, 11:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 242
Default

Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender


Have a Carlon 3/4" PVC FSC box.
Have a Carlon flat cover for the FSC box. The flat cover lines up perfect with the Carlon box for attachment.

I need more room in the box but I could not find any Carlon brand box extenders so so I bought a Bell brand box extender.

The box extender mounts to the FSC box, but there will be no other holes to attach the Carlon flat cover to the box extender.

Am I missing something??

Photos should help below.

Bottom photo on left shows box extender attached to box.
Bottom photo on right shows that there are no holes in box extender to attach flat cover
Attached Thumbnails
Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender-photo1.jpg   Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender-photo2.jpg   Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender-photo3.jpg   Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender-photo4.jpg   Blank cover doesn't line up with box extender-photo5.jpg  


Last edited by collegetry; 06-02-2014 at 11:59 AM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2014, 12:01 PM   #2
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 622
Default


Use a Bell style cover with long screws

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2014, 01:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 242
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
Use a Bell style cover with long screws
Gotcha. So that cover and extender go on the existing box at the same time since theres only one set of holes?

I cant believe Carlon doesnt make a box extender

Last edited by collegetry; 06-02-2014 at 01:20 PM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2014, 06:02 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,786
Rewards Points: 2,528
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
Have a Carlon 3/4" PVC FSC box.
Have a Carlon flat cover for the FSC box. The flat cover lines up perfect with the Carlon box for attachment.

I need more room in the box but I could not find any Carlon brand box extenders so I bought a Bell brand box extender.
Is the original box already installed? Having to buy a box extender after the fact is a sign of poor planning.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 10:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 242
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Is the original box already installed? Having to buy a box extender after the fact is a sign of poor planning.
We decided to add some additional outlets after that box was already installed.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessive Flow Limiting Device in Natural Gas Flexible Line Perry401 Plumbing 2 11-29-2013 06:37 PM
installing refrigerator ice maker line xnera Plumbing 13 07-11-2013 08:11 PM
Main Line Clog Master Brian Plumbing 46 09-06-2012 09:38 PM
Condensate Drain Line Mystery (pan full but no primary clog?) CarrieLP HVAC 21 04-05-2012 12:07 AM
5/8 water meter with a 1 inch servise line ????? ogoz23 Plumbing 11 02-04-2012 11:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts