Best Way To Go About Installing Sconces On Each Side Of Garage [outside]. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 226
Default

Best way to go about installing sconces on each side of garage [outside].


I've got 2 wall sconces that I'd like to install on each side of the garage. My garage is finished so I'd have to fish them thru to the location and my house is stucco.

My question is:

Do I need to install one of those junction boxes? It seems like that would be a lot of work to cut out the cement stucco to put on in there.

Any other recommendations is helpful.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2009, 02:23 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,561
Rewards Points: 6,676
Default


Without a junction box, how would you wire and mount the light?
The lights need a box to mount to and a place for the wire connections.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2009, 02:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


A lot of times people use pancake junction boxes - 6 cu inches
Ask your local Inspector if they will accept that
Alternate is finding a light where it is rated as a junction box





Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2009, 02:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 226
Default


I guess just cutting out some stucco might not be too bad but I'd better be sure that these sconces are the one's I want! LOL.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:48 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


put one of these on each side and run one wire to each one and o j-box in attic
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:48 PM   #6
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
A lot of times people use pancake junction boxes - 6 cu inches
Ask your local Inspector if they will accept that
Alternate is finding a light where it is rated as a junction box

Scuba dave beat me to it
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
It seems like that would be a lot of work to cut out the cement stucco to put on in there.

Well....if that seems like a lot of work, you are not ready to do this project. Cutting the stucco is one of the easier parts.



When we add garage lights we take power from the garage door opener recep, run conduit on the inside and punch thru the wall because the exterior walls are tough to access at this point unless it's a gable end.

Long sentance^


You need jboxes at each fixture. They type of box depends on the framing/construction. Sometimes a pan box is called for, other times it's a bad choice. Also, someone will surely chime in about box fill on a pan box but pay them no mind


Your switch is a whole nother issue. Find fixtures with built in photo cells and save some grief.

Better yet, call someone

Last edited by 220/221; 11-06-2009 at 05:52 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 04:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Isn't a pan box rated for 14-2 for an outside light?
2 hots & a ground = 6 cu inches = pan box
12-2 would be 6.75 cu inches whioch would exceed the rating of a pan box....but only by a little
I didn't think the wires for the light count ?

hmmmmmmmmmm

Quote:
410.10 Space for Conductors. (old code section )
Canopies and outlet boxes taken together shall provide adequate space so that luminaire (fixture) conductors and their connecting devices can be properly installed


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


I was thinking of the first box with a cable in and out.

Not that that would stop me.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ah....true - he wants to connect 2 sconces



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:54 PM   #11
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


you could run one wire in each and put a j-box in the attic
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 249
Rewards Points: 226
Default


I finished the project on Saturday and used the 3" pancake box that was recommended here.

Thanks for the help.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:52 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Without a junction box, how would you wire and mount the light?
The lights need a box to mount to and a place for the wire connections.
Additionally. the connection needs to be protected against arcing (sparking) (as in Spark Plug); (No matter what) don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing service to my garage. WFKnight Electrical 4 02-27-2009 10:18 AM
Some questions about installing new garage door on old opener and other stuff Skeletor916 General DIY Discussions 2 01-23-2009 04:51 PM
Installing an attic above my 2 car garage jdavid Carpentry 2 07-17-2008 11:50 AM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Installing garage door ??? coltsfan Remodeling 5 08-11-2006 01:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts