Best Smoke Detectors - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-24-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default

Best smoke detectors


I out this in electrical since I am talking about hard wired also... wasnt sure where else to... but

I want to put in new smoke detectors... right now my 1996 house does not have hard wired ones, but I was thinking about hard wireing the basement at least with ones that are interlinked (i think there are hard wired ones that can talk to battery ones out there?) so i can put battery in existing construction and hardwire the new construction ones downstairs... any suggestions on what I can use or what is the best ones to use? thanks!
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2009, 02:04 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


There are three common types used in residential work. Each one has its purpose and different types are better for different areas. Like use a carbon monoxide type by the furnace and heat sensor type by the stove and photo sensor types by each bedroom. But these all should link together and be both hard wired and battery operated.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2009, 02:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
There are three common types used in residential work. Each one has its purpose and different types are better for different areas. Like use a carbon monoxide type by the furnace and heat sensor type by the stove and photo sensor types by each bedroom. But these all should link together and be both hard wired and battery operated.

I guess I'm looking for suggestions on brands or models that you guys think work better then others or such
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2009, 02:15 PM   #4
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 99
Default


BRK or Firex
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:06 PM   #5
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,323
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default


Blue,
If you are going to put the hardwired detectors in, do like Bob said and hardwire them all. Pitch the battery only ones. When you get your different type detectors, buy all the same brand so they are compatible with each other. They should have battery backups in each one. Once installed, don't forget to change out the batteries once a year. There's a good chance in a house fire for the electrical service to partially fail (breakers tripping), so you still need good batteries in them.
Mike Hawkins
ret. firefighter
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I bought all Kiddie smokes & CO's
Here we were required to have CO's on each floor - since 2006
I found that out in '07 I think
I have 3 combo smoke/CO's - 1 for each floor
The ones I bought talk, state "Fire" or "CO detected" or something like that

For the top of the 2nd floor stairs I boughht one with a small emergency light

I retrofitted all hard wired everywhere, a PIA for a few snaking the wires



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 06:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 726
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I bought all Kiddie smokes & CO's
Here we were required to have CO's on each floor - since 2006
I found that out in '07 I think
I have 3 combo smoke/CO's - 1 for each floor
The ones I bought talk, state "Fire" or "CO detected" or something like that

For the top of the 2nd floor stairs I boughht one with a small emergency light

I retrofitted all hard wired everywhere, a PIA for a few snaking the wires
Yeah thats what I'm not looking forward to is running wires through walls that are finished already, might have to put some holes in it to get the lines through on the second floor... I'd assume I could just have these wired to the existing lines in the room and not have to run independent lines for their power?
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You need a common wire running from one smoke to another
As a result its easier to just run 12-3 & use the red wire as the common between smokes
I'm not sure if running the common wire seperate is allowed or meets code
Here we are required to have them on AFCI breaker

I put mine in the ceiling since I was working on the 2nd floor & had taken up a knee wall & dormered that side



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:56 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,405
Rewards Points: 3,654
Default


Kidde make a smoke alarm that uses RF to provide the interconnect when you cannot physically connect alarms in older parts of the house. You would need one master unit and other others would be slaved to the master.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 11:15 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


To OP.,

Did you say house is builted in 1996 if that true someone did make a serious mistake it must have hardwired smoke detector hardwired.

It been written in the code for last 15 may be 20 years { it will show up in IBC or IRC one of the two }

I always run new circuits with hardwired smoke detectors useally one of the three brand I use in USA side.

For wireless smoke detectors as Jim Port suggest that will work very well { check with your local inspector if they allow that in there }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:17 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post
They should have battery backups in each one. Once installed, don't forget to change out the batteries once a year. There's a good chance in a house fire for the electrical service to partially fail (breakers tripping), so you still need good batteries in them.
Mike Hawkins
ret. firefighter
I always recommend changing the batteries when changing your clocks (twice a year at daylight savings). Easier to remember, IMO. Just use the old batteries for other things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I bought all Kiddie smokes & CO's
Here we were required to have CO's on each floor - since 2006
I found that out in '07 I think
I have 3 combo smoke/CO's - 1 for each floor
The ones I bought talk, state "Fire" or "CO detected" or something like that

For the top of the 2nd floor stairs I boughht one with a small emergency light

I retrofitted all hard wired everywhere, a PIA for a few snaking the wires
I like the Kiddies myself. But BRK and Firex are good too. As long as you get good ones, not el-cheapos, you should be good.
And definitely take the time to hard wire them.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 320
Default


I have BRK's that I installed about 7 years ago. There were some problems with BRK and also Firex a few years back but they fixed the problems through a recall and they are both pretty good now. Here is a link to BRK ....

http://www.brkelectronics.com/

I noticed that they have a new feature that has been added that "locks in" the unit that triggers the alarm so that you can identify the unit that is causing the alarm. That is a very good featrue. I can't tell you how many times that I have had to check for units that are sounding due to a nuissance alarm only to have them stop before I can identify the unit. Also check local codes for placement as there are different requirements depending on where you live. I would put in one combo co/smoke on every level of the house.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
any suggestions on what I can use or what is the best ones to use? thanks!
Google
'class action'
and the name of your candidate detector company.
At least you'll have some idea of what to avoid.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke Detectors for Bedroom cibula11 Electrical 4 09-14-2009 12:21 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM
CO and Smoke Detectors Chemist1961 HVAC 20 01-22-2009 06:43 PM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts