Best Approach For My Second Floor Rewiring? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Jim Port
  • 1 Post By WillK
  • 1 Post By WillK

Old 11-09-2017, 12:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 1,182

Best approach for my second floor rewiring?

I want to see what kind of recommendations I get for how to approach this project.

If time and money was no object, my approach would be to gut one room at a time and wire it as if it was new construction. I have a new subpanel in the master bedroom on the second floor and I have separate circuits for receptacles in each bedroom, lights for the whole second floor and a separate circuit for the bathroom. There are 4 AFCI breakers installed for the 3 bedroom receptacles and receptacles in the hallway..

My situation is that I more or less thrust myself into the present situation because some of the remaining knob and tube wires extended into the first floor (for 3-way switch running the second floor hallway light) and that led me to try (unsuccessfully) to map out the second floor lighting, which was in contact with a layer of paper faced R-19 fiberglass insulation, leading me to roll it back off of the K&T wiring, but now with winter weather beginning I'd much rather have insulation in place, so I've made my start down that rabbit hole.

Some of the receptacles are already wired with something newer than knob and tube, but it all is (or was) on two circuits... I've made it through most of the lighting on its own dedicated 15A circuit off a new subpanel in the second floor master bedroom.