Bedroom Installation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-20-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Bedroom Installation


Hey im about to wire up a bedroom ive got the main feed coming in and was wondering where i should run it to? I plan on putting the lights on the same circuit. It is canadian so i am running #14. Also can this all be done in a 2 wire ?

Last edited by john457; 03-20-2010 at 12:38 PM.
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2010, 12:55 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


If you're using #14 wire, the breaker has to be 15A. It can all be done in 2-wire unless you wand independent switches for a light/ceiling fan (if you have one).

Is there anything else on this circuit?

Is the incoming feed near where you want the light switch to be?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2010, 01:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The feed is going exactly to where i want the switch to be. Should i feed the switch and what connections are going to be in that box? I know all about the breakers and strapping and supporting codes i just want to make sure im feeding the proper thing and doing everything in the right order. The circuit is just going to be about 6 receptacles and a light.

If i need a piece of 3 wire where will it go to and from and what connection is made?

Last edited by john457; 03-20-2010 at 01:26 PM.
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2010, 01:30 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Don't qoute me wrong but IIRC one of the two Canada providices start requried the AFCI in the bedroom circuits I know in BC area do and Ontario do required.

So therefore check with your local inspector or permite office for the latest info.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I'm pretty sure it does. Im just wondering about the wiring for now though. I haven't made the panel connection i just have the wire from the panel room to the bedroom.

Last edited by john457; 03-20-2010 at 01:41 PM.
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 01:47 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Ahh ok John .,

for the feed to the light switch you can bring the feed to the light switch then after that one cable go to the recetpales the other cable that can go to the light { if you plan to run the ceiling fan it will be best to bring the 14/3 cable so you can able run the fan and light sepearted in case you do not have remote controller }

In the switch box all the white conductors you can wirenut then you have to know which black conductor is from the breaker box { the feed to the switch box } take that black conductor and the other black conductor for receptale and wirenutted with pigtail so you can able hook up the switch.

now the last black conductor that go to the light that will be on the switch { in case if you have red that will be used if have fan in there }

BTW make sure you use the deep well junction box { at least 21 or 22 Cu inches }

But if you want to use one switch for light and second switch for fan then I really suggest to get two gang switch box it will be easier to deal with it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
john457 (03-20-2010)
Old 03-20-2010, 01:51 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


That was perfect thanks alot ! If anyone would like to add anything go for it.

Last edited by john457; 03-20-2010 at 01:54 PM.
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:01 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Let me add one more thing along the way the bare ground conductor of course that will be wirenutted as well and leave a pigtail{s} as well for the switch{s}

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:03 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I understand grounding but what do you mean about the pigtail? Im obviously going to have 3 grounds at the switch you just mean twist 2 of them together so i can get them all under the screws?
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:09 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


John ,

Here the example of pigtail look like .,,



Hope that clear up how it done with it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:24 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Alright yeah that cleared it up i thought you meant where i had my 3 grounds at the switch. Thats good thanks alot.
john457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 02:27 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I am glad to give you a helping hand and if you have any other issue come up let us know one of us will be more than happy to reply to ya.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Makes A Room A Bedroom? HowToGuy Remodeling 11 02-26-2010 02:44 PM
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 12:19 AM
Beautiful Bedroom Renovation! EdinDesign Project Showcase 11 10-03-2008 01:40 PM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM
your guestimation and or opinion on removing a bedroom shan Remodeling 2 12-09-2005 03:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts