Bathroom Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 12:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bathroom outlet


why did my bathroom outlet go out? Can outlet go bad?
Sharon54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2010, 01:32 PM   #2
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Is a a GFCI outlet:



With a reset button?

If so, have you attempted to reset it by pushing reset the button?
__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2010, 01:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 256
Default


If your outlet is gfci, the first post should fix it. If your outlet isn't, then you should replace it with a gfci outlet anyway.
And yes, outlets and switches go bad: espicially if you buy the ones that cost less then fifty cents.
It is current code to have bathroom outlets gfci protected, but it is possible to have gfci brear and not need the special outlet. This case isn't likeley unless your home is new.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2010, 02:47 PM   #4
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


Your outlet may be controlled by a gcfi breaker--Go look in your breaker box--see if any of your breakers have a little blue or red push button--If so--push it to reset.
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 11:44 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default


It is also possible that your outlet is downstream of a gfci outlet that needs to be reset.
SleepyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-working outlet... cdc3jj Electrical 11 08-07-2010 08:37 AM
Bathroom fan replacement reveals...a mess merlanvp Electrical 0 07-25-2010 08:00 PM
Basement Bathroom Circuit design drtpdee Electrical 6 01-03-2008 10:10 AM
Bathroom problem Imreced Electrical 6 12-09-2007 11:04 AM
outlet in bathroom cabinet OK? matty Electrical 5 08-02-2007 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts