Arc Faults In The Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-18-2010, 09:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

arc faults in the basement


I am re-modeling my basement. I have 20amp 12/2 for the outlets for the tv room, a 15amp 14/2 for the lights in my tv room, 20 amp 12/2 for the satellite kitchen (wetbar) with a GFCI, 20 amp 12/2 amp for my bathroom outlet GFCI, 15amp 14/2 bathroom lights, and 15amp 14/2 in my office. Here is my question-Do I need to have an arc fault circuit breaker(s) in the basement? I do not have any bedrooms. I live in Hartford Wisconsin. My "rough" electrical passed inspection, but .....I am just worried about the final inspection.
hiball is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2010, 10:48 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,408
Rewards Points: 3,660
Default


Marc may be along later to confirm, but under the 08 NEC you would need the AFCI breakers.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-18-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2010, 11:40 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by hiball View Post
I am re-modeling my basement. I have 20amp 12/2 for the outlets for the tv room, a 15amp 14/2 for the lights in my tv room, 20 amp 12/2 for the satellite kitchen (wetbar) with a GFCI, 20 amp 12/2 amp for my bathroom outlet GFCI, 15amp 14/2 bathroom lights, and 15amp 14/2 in my office. Here is my question-Do I need to have an arc fault circuit breaker(s) in the basement? I do not have any bedrooms. I live in Hartford Wisconsin. My "rough" electrical passed inspection, but .....I am just worried about the final inspection.
When did you pull the permit on this one due if it was after first of this year yeah you have to use the AFCI only if you have bedroom but the office is kinda a giveaway that can be used as bedroom so that have to be on AFCI.

{ unless it was changed with your local codes }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2010, 04:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I pulled the permit in July of 2010. But, my office doesn't have a window and does not have two escape routes in case of a fire, so thefore i called it an office. It could be a workout room,... if I didn't smoke 1/2 a pack a day. I am thinking of selling this house once the market picks back up, and maybe the owners want it for a bedroom. So, I will put an AFCI in. What do you think about the other basement rooms?
hiball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 07:59 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I know basement bathroom do required GFCI so AFCI for this circuit is not necessary at all.

Sump Pump is extempt { better check with your local codes on this one due it will varies a bit } as long it is singleplex recetpale. { if you install the duplex receptecale then you have to run GFCI on this one}

Basement landury room now all required GFCI

Enterament room yes AFCI required

Lighting circuit yes AFCI

Smoke alarm {Yes or no AFCI depending on local code requirement }

Furnace no AFCI or GFCI at all

Gaz water heater for induction fan that is toss up but put GFCI in there.

Oh yeah you will need TR receptales { Tamper resent type }


That should cover pretty good part of it.

If need more details let me know I will answer much as I can.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
hiball (10-19-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
At a crossroads in my basement project - waterproofing help needed callisto9 Building & Construction 37 07-06-2015 07:40 AM
How to solve problem of moist basement walls moist Building & Construction 4 08-30-2010 05:18 PM
Thoughts and ideas basement finishing and HVAC creamaster HVAC 1 03-10-2010 07:46 PM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 08:49 AM
Insulating basement ceiling - your recommendations? jtmann HVAC 8 11-24-2009 04:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts