Anything Wrong With This? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 05:45 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Anything wrong with this?


I am thinking of installing a fan timer for the bathroom, then I starting thinking, it would be cool if the lights turned on when the fan is turned on which would probably help dry up the room a bit faster, but I don't want the fan to turn on if I turn the lights on.

I started messing around with circuit design and realized I could not accomplish what I wanted with just a standard switch. But it seems by using a 3 way switch for the light, I should be able to accomplish what I want.

Anything wrong with doing this, or am I missing something in my logic, where this won't work?

This is assuming the feed comes from the switches, which I'm pretty sure it is.
Attached Images
 
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2010, 06:54 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


with the circuit, you cannot run just the fan without the lights being on. I often find the need to have the fan running but no need for the lights e.g. after a shower, when I leave the bathroom, I want the lights off but the fan on. With your design, you cannot do that.

Now, if you don't want to include that possibility, then I think your circuit would work just fine for what it appears that you want to have happen.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2010, 07:00 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


The fan will still run through the timer with the lightrs off
The circuit will work as you have designed it.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-10-2010, 10:31 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
with the circuit, you cannot run just the fan without the lights being on. I often find the need to have the fan running but no need for the lights e.g. after a shower, when I leave the bathroom, I want the lights off but the fan on. With your design, you cannot do that.

Now, if you don't want to include that possibility, then I think your circuit would work just fine for what it appears that you want to have happen.
Actually that's fine, I'm thinking the extra 400watts of heat may help in drying up the room a bit so it's kinda the idea behind this. Not really sure whether it really will make a difference or not though... maybe I'll just be wasting electricity for nothing. I'd almost have to put it to the test before I do any changes.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 10:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You have 400w of lights in the bathroom ?
I have 5 bulbs, 2 fixtures = 65w



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:18 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Yeah 4 100w bulbs. I was going to put CFLs but because they get turned on/off a lot I decided incads were better choice, and they produce some heat. Makes coming out of the shower a little easier. The furnace is also almost under the bathroom, and there's a direct vent that is no more then a couple feet of duct, I like my heat in the morning.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:43 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


I must amend my comment. With the configuration you have either the light will be on or the fan will be on through the 3 way switch. One or the other will always be on.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 07:29 AM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Hmm you're right, now I see it. I never caught that. Think I'll just stick to a normal 2 switch circuit. I'm sure what I want is possible, but it would probably get more complicated. There's only so much room in a 3 gang box especially when I add the timer switch.

Edit: Actually now that I look at it again are you sure? If the 3 way is off (line that goes down towards right being the active position) and the fan switch is off, then power is not getting to the rest of the circuit. I was getting confused by my own diagram there, thinking the red traveler always has power to it which is not the case if the fan switch (single) is off.

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 09-11-2010 at 10:53 AM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 03:11 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Edit: Actually now that I look at it again are you sure? If the 3 way is off (line that goes down towards right being the active position) and the fan switch is off, then power is not getting to the rest of the circuit. I was getting confused by my own diagram there, thinking the red traveler always has power to it which is not the case if the fan switch (single) is off.

consider the terminals on the 3 way labeled as this for my explanation. to the light "load"; power from panel "line 1"; power from fan timer switch "line 2"

If the 3 way is in position to connect the "load" and "line 2" terminal and the fan switch is off, nothing will be on. There is no pathway for the power through the 3 way that would connect "line 1" to "line 2"

I don't know where bricc comes up with his claim that something will always be on. If the timer is off and the 3 way is positioned to connect line 2 to load, nothing will be on as there is no pathway for power to flow to either the light or the fan.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 03:30 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
consider the terminals on the 3 way labeled as this for my explanation. to the light "load"; power from panel "line 1"; power from fan timer switch "line 2"

If the 3 way is in position to connect the "load" and "line 2" terminal and the fan switch is off, nothing will be on. There is no pathway for the power through the 3 way that would connect "line 1" to "line 2"

I don't know where bricc comes up with his claim that something will always be on. If the timer is off and the 3 way is positioned to connect line 2 to load, nothing will be on as there is no pathway for power to flow to either the light or the fan.
I was assuming the line to the 3 way was connected to the common. I guess I was wrong.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 04:19 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,002
Rewards Points: 464
Default


You could just have the lights and fan on the timer and both running with the timer. I think just the timer running a minimum of 20 minutes after a shower is adequate for taking the moisture out of the bathroom without the lights on though.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:07 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I was assuming the line to the 3 way was connected to the common. I guess I was wrong.
Review his diagram. He is using the 3 way "backwards" (as most would view such a switch). The common is now the load side and what would generally be viewed as the load contacts are now both being used for line side connection.

Last edited by nap; 09-11-2010 at 05:10 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:11 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
Review his diagram. He is using the 3 way "backwards" (as most would view such a switch). The common is now the load side and what would generally be viewed as the load contacts are now both being used for line side connection.
Agreed.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:17 PM   #14
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Hehe yeah guess it's a creative way of using a 3 way. LOL. But think I will not go with this as the extra connections required will add more wire nuts, and timer switches tend to be bigger, so I think I'd have too much trouble cramming all of that in there. But yeah think just running the fan might be good enough. There is a 60w light in the shower anyway that goes on with the fan.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 05:23 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Hehe yeah guess it's a creative way of using a 3 way. LOL. But think I will not go with this as the extra connections required will add more wire nuts, and timer switches tend to be bigger, so I think I'd have too much trouble cramming all of that in there. But yeah think just running the fan might be good enough. There is a 60w light in the shower anyway that goes on with the fan.
in every 3 way switching circuit, the second switch is used in that manner. It's just when used individually, it appears odd. If one thinks about it, this is also how a POCO supply and a generator supply is connected to a house with a transfer switch so it really isn't that uncommon.

It is the thinker that utilizes all means available to him that often solves a problem. There is nothing wrong or incorrect in using a switch as you have so if it solves a problem, it is simply good use of equipment available to you.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOSSLER Roofing Company Takes Off Wrong Roof! user1007 Off Topic 50 10-04-2009 09:28 PM
bathtub bottom squeaks. What's wrong? hohadcr Carpentry 2 07-27-2009 07:05 PM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM
Replacing wrong color grout - 900 SF of tile Lonidier Flooring 5 07-17-2008 04:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts