AFCI Receptacle Without Metal Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-11-2019, 12:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: CT
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 40
Question

AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


Given: There is no requirement for AFCI protection since there is no new work or modifications to circuits.

The electrician was working on the main electrical panel, and recommended adding AFCI protection to the bedroom circuit. Since he did not have a combination breaker for this panel, he installed an AFCI receptacle in the first box (metal) from the panel (metal). The cable between these two is NM, with no conduit.

I later learned that the NEC would have required certain approved metal conduit (or various other options) from the metal panel to the first metal box if this were new work or a circuit modification.

With this AFCI setup lacking conduit, is there: Zero additional benefit; Some partial benefit; or A hazard introduced?

Last edited by 750mV; 01-11-2019 at 12:12 PM. Reason: AHCI -> AFCI
750mV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2019, 12:17 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,560
Rewards Points: 404
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


There is the benefit of the whole circuit being AFCI protected except the short distance to the first receptacle.
I don't see any hazard. It's no different then not having an AFCI.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
750mV (01-11-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2019, 12:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 9,124
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Re: AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


The requirement for conduit between the panel and the AFCI receptacle box is a new work requirement, if you choose not to use an AFCI breaker.

For a circuit modification or extension, the conduit is NOT required.


Quote:
2017 Code Language:

210.12(D) Branch Circuit Extensions or Modifications Dwelling Units and Dormitory Units. In any of the areas specified in 210.12(A) or (B), where branch-circuit wiring is modified, replaced, or extended, the branch circuit shall be protected by one of the following:

(1) A listed combination-type AFCI located at the origin of the branch circuit.

(2) A listed outlet branch-circuit type AFCI located at the first receptacle outlet of the existing branch circuit.

Exception: AFCI protection shall not be required where the extension of the existing conductors is not more than 1.8 m (6 ft) and does not include any additional outlets or devices.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2019, 12:57 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: CT
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Re: AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
For a circuit modification or extension, the conduit is NOT required.

Thanks for the clarification.

Since the code does not apply in my case, the main question was whether I was getting any additional protection from the new AFCI receptacle, or whether I should try to find a (slim) AFCI breaker for the old GE panel.
750mV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 9,124
Rewards Points: 2,144
Default

Re: AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


An AFCI breaker for the GE Q-line is going to be the 1 inch, not the 1/2 inch size.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: CT
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Re: AFCI receptacle without metal conduit


The GE panel model is: TM2020F mod 1. Circa 1968.


There are one or two free 1" slots, but most are populated with 1/2" breakers.
750mV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
ahci , conduit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting Flexiable Metal Conduit Greendfield mobiledynamics Electrical 24 04-18-2015 03:20 PM
PVC conduit questions powertoolguy Electrical 4 08-28-2013 06:30 AM
Receptacle Terminal Short to Conduit Connector mcomisar Electrical 4 08-19-2013 07:11 PM
flex metal conduit joe doe Electrical 1 12-08-2011 09:22 AM
Replacing Metal timer box with Plastic - Metal conduit question? TFastle Electrical 6 12-20-2010 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts