Advice: Need Alarm For GFCI In Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 06:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 151
Default

Advice: Need alarm for GFCI in basement


Freezer is plugged into GFCI outlet in basement. I have an alarm plugged into it (that contains a battery) but the sound doesn't last long and it's fairly anemic.

DOES there exist a GFCI outlet, or device to replace the GFCI recepticle itself, that will throw a loud alarm powered by the house current (pre-interrupt)?

Thanks! I lost a big freezer full of stuff by not being careful.
tgm1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2010, 06:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Is it a dedicated circuit to the freezer ?
How old is the freezer ?
Why did it trip in the past ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2010, 07:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
I have an alarm plugged into it (that contains a battery) but the sound doesn't last long and it's fairly anemic.

DOES there exist a GFCI outlet, or device to replace the GFCI recepticle itself, that will throw a loud alarm powered by the house current (pre-interrupt)?
Post a link to the alarm.

The second option: a SPDT relay [$3 from Hosfelt, or from Radio Shack] with 120 vac coil which goes to the freezer outlet. A turned-on radio or loud alarm is in series with the normally closed contacts and another source of 120v. When the coil drops out the contacts close and sound the alarm. The relay contacts have to be rated to carry the alarm current.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-24-2010 at 07:24 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-24-2010, 07:29 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


If this is dedicated to the freezer, if so does the NEC allow you to put a regular plug in. If it was me I would change it to a regular plug and then not have to worry about it tripping and looseing a freezer full of food.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 07:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


No they did away with that in 2008, has to be GFCI now



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:25 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Thats dumb, if it was me i still would be putting a regular plug. I doubt it if the publishers of the NEC will come along with a cheque if my my GFI trips and I lose a freezer full of food.

But I'm not telling you to do that, keep it as a GFI
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 08:58 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


I am sure the basis for the CEC as well as the NEC is life safety, not food safety.

A normally functioning freezer or refrigerator should not trip a GFI. If it trips it needs to be fixed or replaced.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:05 AM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


But the CEC does not require all basement plugs to be GFI protected.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:17 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Posters IP tracks to the US



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:46 AM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


What happens if it is a finished basement do you still need a GFI or is just unfinshed basements that needs GFI.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:49 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


GFI protection is only needed in the unfinished portions. AFCI protection might then be then needed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 09:52 AM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


Thanks Jim thats good to know for future questions.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:02 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 151
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Is it a dedicated circuit to the freezer ?
How old is the freezer ?
Why did it trip in the past ?
It's tripped recently by having the water rise enough to reach the end of the extension cord I had connected to a fan.

But even so, I still am not a fan of just leaving this thing be. I've had GFCI's trip by just turning on something with a motor. Valid or invalid reasons, I don't want to lose that much food again.
tgm1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:12 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


Sorry to see that a freezer of food is more important than someones life.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 10:14 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
No they did away with that in 2008, has to be GFCI now
are you sure? I'm thinking dedicated receptacles for appliances do not have to be GFCI.

same with AFCI I think


and as he turns to grab his 08 NEC, he realizes he has no idea where it is so he can check for himself
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
alarm , gfci


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 08:51 PM
Insulating basement ceiling - your recommendations? jtmann HVAC 8 11-24-2009 04:44 PM
Basement Bath advice... jfls45 Remodeling 4 06-09-2009 06:10 AM
Need advice on basement support column problem aibrean Building & Construction 9 06-08-2009 04:29 PM
Advice on basement shop wiring WoodworkerDave Electrical 4 04-05-2008 12:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts