Additional Circuits? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes

Old 01-11-2019, 06:49 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 3,592

Additional circuits?

Like a lot of modern families ours we have a lot of computers and electronics. We are a bit "deeper" as we have five power hungry computers (one excessively power hungry) plus TVs, game consoles, etc. in the bedrooms.

We're going to have easy access to the fuse box in addition to the walls in the bedrooms/office so I was wondering what the thoughts are on running some additional circuits from the fuse box while I've got it pulled apart.

(I'm not a professional, just a homeowner who dabbles in a bit of everything DIY)
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2019, 06:53 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Rewards Points: 4,412

Re: Additional circuits?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystriss View Post
We're going to have easy access to the fuse box in addition to the walls ...
On this basis... absolutely.
One 20A circuit split between the several 'electronics' walls is probably enough.
But if you know you have some specific high draw appliance... provide for that too.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
Mystriss (01-11-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2019, 07:09 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
On this basis... absolutely.
One 20A circuit split between the several 'electronics' walls is probably enough.
But if you know you have some specific high draw appliance... provide for that too.

I kind of figured.

So should I take out the existing... 15A(? I think that's the usual yeah?) circuits and completely redo the rooms entirely, or should I just add a 20A line or two in?