Adding A Switch To An Existing 3/4 Way Setup - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-11-2014, 07:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a switch to an existing 3/4 Way Setup


Images below. Wouldnt let me post in the first one
Impact-Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2014, 07:37 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default



I currently have the basic setup of this image. I want to add the switch in the purple box and it would have to be wired into the current 3 way box.

The problem I have is I cant create the loop because the switches are split amongst 2 levels.

I found one image (
but I wasn't sure if that was possible with 2 cables in the same box

Is it possible? Anyone have any advise?
Impact-Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2014, 07:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I think I have the idea but hopefully someone can check my work

Impact-Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2014, 08:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 126
Rewards Points: 30
Default


Should work

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Premium08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding wiring for under cabinet lights from a three way switch Dale8 Electrical 0 10-07-2012 02:50 PM
adding second light from a switch agsurfer Electrical 3 09-10-2010 12:01 PM
Adding an outlet to an existing 3 way switch poghl0069 Electrical 3 09-09-2010 01:21 PM
Adding a Switch and jump power Bull-37 Electrical 9 01-10-2008 05:45 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts