Adding A Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-25-2010, 03:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding a sub panel


How should I size this sub panel?

Last edited by Shrute; 05-06-2010 at 08:39 PM.
Shrute is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2010, 03:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


8-3 will give you 40a @240v
If either hot feed bus goes over 40a the breaker will trip
How big is your main panel..100a...200a ?
How many circuits are you figuring you need ?
Kitchen needs 2 counter circuits, DW...microwave...disposal ?
Bath needs a 20a circuit
Bedroom needs AFCI





Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2010, 04:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
8-3 will give you 40a @240v
If either hot feed bus goes over 40a the breaker will trip
Yup, 8-3 will give me 80 amps to play with since everything will be 120V.

Last edited by Shrute; 05-06-2010 at 08:38 PM.
Shrute is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2010, 04:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yeah that should do it
If a big kitchen you might add a 3rd circuit for the counter - I am

And if the bedroom is big you may want to add a 2nd circuit
IE if it will be used as a TV room
I only have 1 circuit to my Master bedroom which is big

Not sure what you have for panels at stores near you
I haven't looked in a while
But when I ran a 60a sub I used a small 100a panel & fed it with 60a
More room for circuits just in case



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 04:32 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


Now's the time to add what you may need in the future, plan it out: http://books.google.com/books?id=6KQ...age&q=&f=false

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Is there any required calculation that I have to do in order to size the panel?
We all know that this size feeder will be fine (we have been living off of a single 15A circuit for years) but will the inspector require a certain size based on the loads?

Thanks again.
Shrute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I can't see where any load you have would exceed the 40a sub
As long as you put circuit on both hot bus I think you should be fine
What a Building Dept requires can differ by area
I wasn't even required to submit a plan of where lights & outlets would be located



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Adding a Sub Panel for Transfer Switch dcopps Electrical 27 08-24-2009 10:36 AM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts