Adding A Plug From A Switch That Has Red,white,black, And Bare - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-08-2010, 08:28 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I was thinking that too. So I do have it connected right? I'll have to check my connection then and see if something came loose......I'll let you know..one question though..

why is the red connected to the switch?? i understand the black but i don't get the red.
Limit54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2010, 10:48 PM   #17
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,824
Rewards Points: 23,990
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The red is be the switched power from the switch. Black and white are unswitched power.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2010, 11:34 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It is permissible to have bathrooms in Canada on the same circuit as other rooms.
Really? i don't have a CEC handy but somehow I would doubt it. I could be wrong though.
Rudeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2010, 07:14 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default


yes it is permisable in Canada Rudeboy. I have been through this before. I Canada the codes are different. I know that in some part of the states the building codes are insanely strict...so I have been told.

Even so, I think that it would be ok regardless because the switch is powering the main light for the bathroom and not from a closet.
Limit54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 06:39 AM
adding outlet from light switch tad Electrical 17 06-05-2009 11:25 PM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Hall light worked before installing a new light fixture in bathroom jcfan7 Electrical 40 02-23-2008 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts