Adding Outdoor Washer And Dryer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-28-2019, 04:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 145
Default

adding outdoor washer and dryer


I've read over the codes https://www.nfpa.org/NEC/About-the-N...58&access=open

But still have some questions.

I plan on adding one 20A 115vac breaker and one 30A 230vac breaker. Then running the wires in two conduits thru the block wall from inside garage to the outside. then securing to wet rated surface mount boxes, one each for the 115vac and the 230vac electrical socket receptacles.

The boxes and enclosed covers will be wet outdoor rated.

The receptacles will be GFCI.

I believe the codes said I needed a cutoff outside the house. Why?

When I read the codes a few years ago, I though I read mention of 4 prong required for the 230vac and I think there was also instructions on how to hook up a 4 conductor cord to the older 3 terminal dryers, but i cant find that now.

Any advice will be appreciated.

paul
paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2019, 04:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 386
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


No cutoff needed - the cord & plug serve as cutoffs.
LawnGuyLandSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2019, 04:30 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,149
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Dryer receptacle do not come as GFCI. And it is not required.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2019, 04:43 PM   #4
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 28,201
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 04:50 PM   #5
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,224
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Dryer receptacle do not come as GFCI. And it is not required.

Sent from my Moto E (4) Plus using Tapatalk

No GF protection required for an outdoor circuit? Or is that only a rule for general service circuits.
__________________
_________________________________________
Sic Itur at Astra
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 04:55 PM   #6
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 28,201
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


A GFCI would not work on a 3 wire dryer anyway.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 05:27 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,149
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by lenaitch View Post
No GF protection required for an outdoor circuit? Or is that only a rule for general service circuits.
Basically yes, for 120 volt 15/20 amp circuits.

To the OP, for a new dryer circuit it must be 4 wire and use a 4 wire cord.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
lenaitch likes this.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 07:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Outdoor washer and dryer?
I have never seen a washer and dryer approved for outdoor use.
Brushog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 09:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 386
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


I assumes they were going into some kind of enclosure.
LawnGuyLandSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 08:10 PM   #10
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,224
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brushog View Post
Outdoor washer and dryer?
I have never seen a washer and dryer approved for outdoor use.

Coming from a northern clime the concept of appliances outside or in garages seems so strange but I've seen enough threads on here about them I've stopped wondering.
__________________
_________________________________________
Sic Itur at Astra
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 02:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 564
Rewards Points: 58
Default


Remember that they're is water within the washer hoses, etc. that will freeze in the winter even if the faucet is cut off.
Wiredindallas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 03:22 PM   #12
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,149
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiredindallas View Post
Remember that they're is water within the washer hoses, etc. that will freeze in the winter even if the faucet is cut off.
Years ago I had a cabin in western Mass. that I shutdown for the winter. Drained all the pipes and used RV antifreeze in the traps and toilet. To winterize the clothes washer I removed the H/C supply lines and poured a quart of RV antifreeze into the drain hose. Never had an issue, connected it back up in the spring and ran an empty cycle to clean out the antifreeze.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 145
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


can I use one conduit for both?
or

Can I tap the 115 off of one side of the 230, like my stove does?
paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 06:18 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,149
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmars View Post
can I use one conduit for both?
or

Can I tap the 115 off of one side of the 230, like my stove does?
No that won't fly, need 2 circuits. Or run a 40 amp circuit and use a small sub panel.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 08:42 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 145
Default

Re: adding outdoor washer and dryer


anything else I need to know?
paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts