Add Lights To A 3 Way Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-22-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Add lights to a 3 way circuit


I have a 3 way circuit set up this way:

Supply(2 wire) --> switch 1(3wire) --> light 1(3wire) --> switch 2(3wire)

I would like to add two more lights in the 3 wire run between switch 1 and switch 2. How do I connect them?

Thanks
Brad
bfackrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2010, 02:55 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You have to run some 2-wire from light 1 to lights 2 and 3 in order for it to work.

You can't interrupt the 3-wire switch loop past the light.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
bfackrell (08-22-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2010, 03:37 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,813
Rewards Points: 23,968
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Agree. The only way it will work is if you tap into the existing fixture. You can NOT cut into the three wire cable between the lights at any point other than the existing fixture.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
bfackrell (08-29-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2010, 03:46 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


As Kbsparky said just add 14/2 at points 1 & 2 at the light fixture then run it to the new light boxes and fixtures.
Attached Thumbnails
Add lights to a 3 way circuit-3way5.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
bfackrell (08-29-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new circuit for recessed lights.... DickieFL Electrical 7 11-21-2009 08:12 PM
Arc Fault Break Tripping when any light switch turned on elab1 Electrical 60 11-20-2009 01:24 PM
Should Ceiling lights be on separate circuit? handyoldgal Electrical 29 03-18-2009 08:54 PM
How many lights on a circuit? How many outlets? helpless handyman Electrical 4 04-14-2008 12:11 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts