AC Unit Running Slow - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 02:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Unit Running Slow


I recently had a 30amp 2-pole breaker added to my service panel to power a 2800 BTU AC unit which requires 30 amps at 220/240 volts. The wire is #10 with 4 wires in the jacket. The receptacle and plug for the unit are only 3 wires, 2 hot wires and a ground wire. The neutral was connected to the bus bar in the service panel but not connected in the outlet because there is no place for a neutral on the outlet or the plug for the AC unit as stated earlier. I did checkthe outlet and it shows 120 for each blade ot the receptacle but the AC unt is not producing full power. When initially plugged up it ran fine but within an hour slowed down. The plate for the AC unit indicates 30 amps @ 220V. I am not tripping the breaker the unit just runs slow. Is the breaker properly wired or did I or my electrian miss something?
Stoplight93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2011, 02:09 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Is it a new unit with electronic controls? It may be designed to "Slow down" as it reaches the set-temperature.

Does the speed change if you change the settings?

Do any of the connections get hot to the touch? check the breaker, plug, receptacle, cord, etc. for any signs of heating, due to bad/loose connections.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2011, 03:38 AM   #3
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,446
Rewards Points: 7,850
Default


Did you measure the voltage whilst under load ?
If you are getting close to the correct voltage
whilst the unit is running and the compressor is working,
Then is wont be an electrical problem.

Can you elaborate on "NOT PRODUCING FULL POWER".
as is could be a problem with the gas.
Is the blower fan running properly ?
Does the compressor sound ok ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2011, 05:25 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Used unit, the speed does change but on the highest setting it will slow down after a minute or two, no weird sounds with the unit. It did get warm the first time this happened but I havent run it much since trying to figure out what the issue may be.before I turn it back on. I didnt want to do any damge to the unit if I can resolve the issue. I will check all connections to make sure they are tight after I shut off the power ofcourse. Refering FULL POWER the blower slows down after a few minutes. I will check the voltage under a load to see what the tells me. Thanks for the advise I sure hope to get this figured out. I really thought it was the neutral wire that is only connected at the breaker panel because the outlet and plug are only 3 wires 2 hots and a ground.
Stoplight93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:34 PM   #5
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,446
Rewards Points: 7,850
Default


If the voltage drops off as the machine slows down,
This could indicate a electrical supply issue.
Depending on where it is measured.
But lets wait for the results of the test,

Also some machines do have control systems that do slow
things down, such as auto matic fan speed control.
Which determines fan speed by the temperature.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain line plugged on air handler unit - need advice spta97 HVAC 19 07-26-2011 07:50 PM
my central a/c heat unit trips my 40 amp breaker after running heat for 5 minutes. buttons1 Electrical 2 12-27-2010 09:23 AM
Deck Landing and A/C Unit Master Brian HVAC 10 07-22-2010 07:08 PM
Condenser unit quits working on regular basis.. big-e HVAC 16 07-22-2010 05:44 PM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts