60 Gal Air Compressor Wiring Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-30-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

60 gal air compressor wiring help


I just bought a 60 gallon air compressor from lowes.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_221565-14989-LLA3706056_0_?productId=3115863&Ntt=air+compressor &Ntk=i_products&pl=1&currentURL=/pl__0__s?newSearch=true$Ntt=air%20compressor$y=0$x =0


They sold me this stuff to wire it up:

20' 10-2 or 10-3 I'm not sure (orange cover, white, black and solid copper wire), 20 amp double pole square d breaker.

This receptacle
http://www.lowes.com/pd_197501-334-L...CatalogDisplay

This plug
http://www.lowes.com/pd_197496-334-L...CatalogDisplay

Got my wire ran, everything hooked up, ect.. Compressor wont turn on. My question is did lowes sell me the wrong plug/receptacle since it it for four wires?

Please help.

Thanks!!
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2010, 06:53 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by chopshop View Post
I just bought a 60 gallon air compressor from lowes.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_221565-14989-LLA3706056_0_?productId=3115863&Ntt=air+compressor &Ntk=i_products&pl=1&currentURL=/pl__0__s?newSearch=true$Ntt=air%20compressor$y=0$x =0


They sold me this stuff to wire it up:

20' 10-2 or 10-3 I'm not sure (orange cover, white, black and solid copper wire), 20 amp double pole square d breaker.

This receptacle
http://www.lowes.com/pd_197501-334-L...CatalogDisplay

This plug
http://www.lowes.com/pd_197496-334-L...CatalogDisplay

Got my wire ran, everything hooked up, ect.. Compressor wont turn on. My question is did lowes sell me the wrong plug/receptacle since it it for four wires?

Please help.

Thanks!!
Your 10-2 wire should have the white wire relabeled with black tape and then this wire and the black wire should be connected to your double pole breaker and the bare ground connected to the ground bar. The plug is not really the correct plug. What did you do at the pressure switch?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2010, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I bought a power cord, white to white black to black, and green to ground.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2010, 08:54 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Your receptacle should look like 6-20R or L6-20r and the plug will end with a P.
Attached Thumbnails
60 gal air compressor wiring help-20a-nema.jpg  
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 09:01 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


At your pressure switch you should have two leads coming from the motor to a terminal block. Your cord will be connected to the screws so when the bail closes each motor lead will be connected to a cord lead. Do you have an AC volt meter?
Although the plug and receptacle you have aren't correct, it should still run if the wired correctly.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 09:07 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I just can not figure out why the big bleu guys sold ya the twistlock that was not needed for compressor useage a 6-20P and 6-20R will just work just fine and less expensive than twistlock.

You will have to remark the 4.0mm˛ { 12 AWG } white conductor with either black tape or marker one of the two { any colour but not white , green , gray } and land that on correct two pole breaker ditto with the receptale location remarked white conductor on brass colour screw while black on other brass colour screw and bare or green conductor on green screw.

Check the pressure switch and yeah check the motor connections as well { some case they do send it with wrong voltage hook up if that happend either it will not run or burn the motour up }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:05 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I do have a volt meter. Should I return the plug tomorrow and and get a different style?
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:09 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If you did not use them yet then yeah please do return them but if you did use them but I do not know what the store policy on that item and you will need to get correct one due it is correct voltage setting and you only need use two hot conductors and ground that it.

That compressor do not need netural if wired on 240 volts.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:20 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Ive used them, but I have the packaging and receipt still. If I can make them work I will just use them.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Check with an ohmmeter between the compressor wires with the switch on, 3 tests in all.
Check with an ohmmeter between the compressor wires and the metal shell of the compressor, 3 tests in all.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:31 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by chopshop View Post
Ive used them, but I have the packaging and receipt still. If I can make them work I will just use them.
Really I am serious just swap the correct plug and you will not have to worry about the issue with the netrual connection in case someone else have a funny idea and find out there is no netural there.

Beside the twistlock cost almost 2X of stright plug and receptale will cost.

{ the straight 240 volt plugs useally are about 5 Euros while the twistlock they run about 10 to 25 Euros }

Merci.
Marc

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 07-30-2010 at 10:48 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:32 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Check with an ohmmeter between the compressor wires with the switch on and with the switch off, 6 tests in all.
Check with an ohmmeter between the compressor wires and the metal shell of the compressor, 3 tests in all.
Yoyizit will you please delete this one this is not related to this issue.

Merci. Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 02:06 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I returned the plug and got the 6-20r plug. Haven't had a chance to mess with it yet tho.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 03:17 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Yoyizit will you please delete this one this is not related to this issue.

Merci. Marc
It's checking whether the problem is in the compressor.

And, you have got to have been able to figure out why I would post this.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 09:28 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Got it working. Thank you everyone for your help.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts