60 Amp Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TarheelTerp
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-22-2018, 12:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

60 amp switch


My brother just got an electric car. We have a 60 amp sub panel in the garage being used for the jacuzzi. Do they make a switch that I can install to switch between charging the car and running the jacuzzi?


I really don't want to run another circuit out to the garage.


Thanks Keith
Keith425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2018, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 542
Rewards Points: 1,084
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


what size breaker does the tub have, and what size breaker do you want to give the car? what car do you have?
u3b3rg33k is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2018, 02:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 1,778
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


What EV charger is he planning to use ?
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2018, 02:57 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,561
Rewards Points: 23,472
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


A transfer switch like is used for connecting a generator could work to toggle between the two devices.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 03:38 PM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
TarheelTerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 4,723
Rewards Points: 4,124
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith425 View Post
Do they make a switch that I can install to switch between...
A drum switch is a cheap out. LINK
mpoulton likes this.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 04:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 1,778
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Quote:
A transfer switch like is used for connecting a generator could work to toggle between the two devices.
Could work is different than permitted by code. I guess we also need the location of this EV charger to know whether itís NEC or CEC.

A number of the EV chargers call for a dedicated circuit. Does a switched circuit between two devices qualify as dedicated?

Some of the bigger chargers have timer settings that only allow a low level charge during on peak hours and a full current charge during off peak. This or other soft settings could be lost by switching the power off.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 09:12 PM   #7
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 1,996
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Search for a "double throw safety switch" if you actually want to do this. They aren't cheap.


You might also check to see if your utility provider has a program for a separate electric vehicle service. This would keep you from having to run anything new from the house (they can usually provide the service at the garage) and the lower rates more than pay for the equipment costs over time.
Fishbulb28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 09:17 PM   #8
Disrespectful to dirt
 
Fishbulb28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 1,996
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
A number of the EV chargers call for a dedicated circuit. Does a switched circuit between two devices qualify as dedicated?
That's a good point and the 2017 NEC requires it even if the manufacturer does not. In my opinion it does qualify. The intent is to prevent overload from devices operating simultaneously and a selector switch does do that.
Fishbulb28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 07:50 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Both devices require a 220V 60A supply. No charger. Car plugs straight in with a cable.
Keith425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2018, 01:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 542
Rewards Points: 1,084
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith425 View Post
Both devices require a 220V 60A supply. No charger. Car plugs straight in with a cable.
you should google "electric car charger" so you're up on the terminology.


again, what car? what charger?

does your hot tub NEED a 60A service? i highly doubt it has more than a 2HP motor, and you might be able to re-wire the heater and satisfy demand with it set up for a 30A feed. you could do the same for the car, program the charger to communicate that it has 30A available, and run both at the same time without issue.

you're effectively asking the hot tub to run with 60A service 50% of the time, if it can, then it can also work with 30A service 100% of the time. as can the car. if not, you'll need a bigger panel and feeder.
u3b3rg33k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 05:08 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


The spa has a heater, main circulation pump, 3 pumps for jets and an air pump as well as lights.

Car is a Tesla. No charger. Cable plugs in 220 outlet I installed and the other end goes directly into the car. Car stats says in draws about 32 amps. As long as the spa is not in use while the car is charging there should be no problem. I just don't like it that way. Will be tearing up cement walkway and asphalt driveway in spring so will be running new underground wires then to have 2 separate sub panels.

Last edited by Keith425; 08-26-2018 at 05:11 PM.
Keith425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2018, 10:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 542
Rewards Points: 1,084
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith425 View Post
The spa has a heater, main circulation pump, 3 pumps for jets and an air pump as well as lights.

Car is a Tesla. No charger. Cable plugs in 220 outlet I installed and the other end goes directly into the car. Car stats says in draws about 32 amps. As long as the spa is not in use while the car is charging there should be no problem. I just don't like it that way. Will be tearing up cement walkway and asphalt driveway in spring so will be running new underground wires then to have 2 separate sub panels.
ALL electric cars have on-board chargers. the box that you mount on the wall that plugs in to house power/gets hardwired and plugs into the car is still called a "charger". it's just how it is. the only time it's actually a charger is when it's something like a tesla supercharger, and feeds DC to the on-board batteries. go figure.

given that you're going to run more wire, I'd recommend you put in a big subpanel in the garage instead of having multiple single-device sub-panels. all you should need is at most a disconnect for the device, if code requires it. it's my understanding that a plug counts as a disconnect.
u3b3rg33k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 12:20 AM   #13
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,227
Rewards Points: 7,414
Default

Re: 60 amp switch


QUOTE - [ Do they make a switch that I can install to switch between charging the car and running the jacuzzi ]?


Well yes they do,
However they are not cheap
cause we are talking about a substancial switch


You really should also talk to an electrician

As there are a lot of rules to follow.
which again vary from location to location.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 6 05-13-2017 04:29 PM
Weird 3-way switch shenanigans going on. poiihy Electrical 11 09-12-2015 04:28 PM
A few wiring questions on installing this timer switch thinksincode Electrical 19 03-04-2013 05:31 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts