50kVA Transformer, 320A Service, Can I Send 200A To My Shop? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-16-2016, 09:39 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Re: 50kVA transformer, 320A service, can I send 200A to my shop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You need to pick equipment from the power company approved list.
I asked the planner, he said not for the service equipment I don't. I just have to get the POCO to bless the meter socket.
ETD66SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2016, 10:14 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Re: 50kVA transformer, 320A service, can I send 200A to my shop?


So far, this is what I found on service equipment specs: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_X...ew?usp=sharing

They require a manual bypass for 320A, and 13,900 AIC. All the meter combos I am looking at have a manual bypass and are 22,000 AIC rated.
ETD66SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2016, 01:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,718
Rewards Points: 1,332
Default

Re: 50kVA transformer, 320A service, can I send 200A to my shop?


Quote:
They require a manual bypass for 320A, and 13,900 AIC. All the meter combos I am looking at have a manual bypass and are 22,000 AIC rated.
And your problem/question is ?

Btw, I got a msg about problems loading the 2nd page of your link. 1st page was fine.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-16-2016, 01:55 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 444
Default

Re: 50kVA transformer, 320A service, can I send 200A to my shop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
And your problem/question is ?

Btw, I got a msg about problems loading the 2nd page of your link. 1st page was fine.

I was looking for a meter main combo that had the following features:

1) 320A plug in meter socket with manual bypass
2) Two 200A breakers
3) Load center with 4-8 spaces
4) Feed through lugs for the breaker that feeds the load center.

I *think* both the Siemens MC0816B1400SCS and the Milbank U5981-X-2/200-K3L-5T6-MLK-AMS both have all the features I am looking for.

Then it came into question why I am searching for this equipment on my own as opposed to just looking at the POCO "approved service equipment list". Well, there is no National Grid approved service equipment list that I can find that has a listing of meter mains I am allowed to use. They just have some general specs, which is the .pdf that I linked.

I'm still awaiting the estimate from the POCO, I'm not sure if with that they will send an equipment list. From talking to the planner, he says no...
ETD66SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Is Power cheaper with 200A Service? Dave-Denver Electrical 19 08-26-2008 11:45 PM
Use a reduced neutral on 200a UG service ?? bradsguns Electrical 3 06-09-2008 08:00 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts