50 Amp Sub - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 02:17 PM   #16
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Yes exactly
I only mention the 60a instead because breakers are usually about the same in cost & wire isn't that much more for the short distance
Thanks to all who have taken the time to read and respond to this thread..I am off to the hardware store to buy all the stuff. Ill update the thread when I am finished to let you all know how it worked.
mountain_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2010, 11:21 PM   #17
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Welp, I finished the sub panel today. Everything worked out just fine. Thanks to all who posted up in this thread.
mountain_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2010, 04:40 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Excellent !!
Any final pics to show off ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2010, 12:24 PM   #19
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Excellent !!
Any final pics to show off ?
I dont have a digital camera, but I will elaborate a little on how I managed to get it all done.

1st I bought the 1-2-3 wiring book from home depot. It was well worth the 11.95 I paid for it. I read the book 2 times to make sure I was ready for what I was in for. I also kept the book by my side through the process as a reference to what I was doing and make sure I didnt get the wiring mixed up.

Before this I had replaced a light switch in my bathroom and shocked myself....Thats all the residential wiring experience I had.

I went back to Home Depot and purchased...
1 100a 6 slot panel - $14.99
3' #6/3 wire (it was #6 wire with two hot wires, a ground, and a neutral wire). $2.80 per ft.
1 100' spool of # 12 romex (more than I needed) ~$50.00
3 20a circuits $2.80 each
1 50a circuit $8.00
2 15a circuits $2.50 each
3 metal external socket boxes - $2.00 each
3 metal covers - $.50 each
3 20a wall sockets - $4.00 each
3 grounding clamps - 3.00
1 25' roll of 3/4" flexible metal conduit - $9.99
1 bag of 3/4" conduit clamps
2 bags of wire clamps $1.50 each
1 11 piece electrician tool set with tool belt made by commercial electric - #4.99

First I picked where I wanted my outlets
Mounted them and ran my #12 wire from there to where the sub box was gonna go.

Next I put the wires in conduit and secured the conduit to the wall.

I then wired the outlets, and added the grounding clamps so I could ground the metal boxes.

I wired the sub panel with the # 6 wires I DID NOT CONNECT THE WIRES TO THE MAIN PANEL UNTIL EVERYTHING ELSE WAS WIRED.

I secured the wire to the boxes and the conduit by using the wire clamps.

I shut off all power to my main panel.

I removed 2 15a circuits from my main panel

I drilled a couple holes through a wall stud just above and next to my main panel and routed my new #12 wires through, re routed the #14 wire for the 2 15a circuits I removed from the main panel through one of the holes.
I ran the 3' of #6 wire through the other hole I drilled.

I ran all the # 12 and #14 wires into the sub panel and connected my circuits. The #14 was from the 2 15a circuits I moved from the main panel into the sub panel.

I wired my 50a circuit with the #6 wire and snapped in into place where the 15a circuits were.

I retraced all my wires and connections to make sure I did not forget anything

when I was sure everything was secure, I hit the main power and prayed that I didnt make any mistakes.

Presto....I had just saved a few hundred bucks that I would have had to pay a pro to do this easy job for me. I also learned something new.....yikes!!

I may have left out some small details....dont use this post as instructions on how to do this. If you are planning to do this, buy the book.

I made sure that my wife was home and standing by with a 2x4 to smack me with just in case I zapped myself.
I performed 90% of this work with 1 hand cause I was told that 2 hands will complete a circuit if I screwed up.

I also took every safety precaution that was stated in my book. rubber soles and I still stood on 2x4 lumber just cause I was scarred.

I did have to make a few back and forth trips to the Home Depot cause I thought I could re use the 15a circuits in my new panel.....nope...
And at first I bought a 60a to feed the sub...but didnt have room in the sub to move 4 circuits over. so I took it back in lieu of a 50amp that used 2 slots. Make a detailed list of what you need to save gas money.


I have one slot left in my sub....and I think this evening I am going to use it to dedicate a line to my garage freezer.

Scuba Dave and every one else who posted in this thread led me in the right direction, and if not for this site I may have never felt confidant doing this work.

Thanks to all!
mountain_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:28 PM   #20
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Oh, forgot to mention that I had to saw a hole in my dry wall to mount the sub panel. The saw that came with my electricians tool kit was perfect for the job. I was gonna go with an external box.....but I am MUCH happier that it looks clean and permanent.
mountain_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts