4 Wire 220v (240V) Circuit To A 3 Prong (with Ground) Recepticle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-01-2010, 10:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 wire 220v (240V) circuit to a 3 prong (with ground) recepticle


i need to add a 220V (240V) outlet in my garage for a air compresser. i have the correct recepticle for the compresser ( a cooper wiring devices 1876w) the breaker is 4 strand....2 hots, 1 neutral, and a ground. the recepticle however has 1 brass (hot) one silver (neutral) and a green (ground) do i put both hot to the brass and the neutral to the silver ////please help?
stonecold5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2010, 11:22 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Is it a 3 prong outlet? Sounds like it may be a 240v and with no need for 120v, in that case you just cap the neutral. You can probably just use 12/2 even, and skip the neutral. I'm assuming this is the receptacle? I believe that's 20a 240v.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
stonecold5150 (07-02-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2010, 11:25 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


most air compressors do not use a neutral.

if red squirrel posted the correct recep, there is no neutral taken to the recep. Yes, you can use 12/2+G.

one of each of the hots to the silver and brass screws. Bare or green to the green ground screw.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
stonecold5150 (07-02-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2010, 12:42 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
most air compressors do not use a neutral.

if red squirrel posted the correct recep, there is no neutral taken to the recep. Yes, you can use 12/2+G.

one of each of the hots to the silver and brass screws. Bare or green to the green ground screw.
Nap just a small correction to your part for straght 240 volts receptales there will be no silver screws there.

However if you have 4.0mm˛ twinner aka 12-2 you have to remark the white conductor to red or bleu or use black tape to know that is hot conductor.

{ this part is only legit with cable but for indivual conductors in conduit it is not legit }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 04:35 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Nap just a small correction to your part for straght 240 volts receptales there will be no silver screws there.

However if you have 4.0mm˛ twinner aka 12-2 you have to remark the white conductor to red or bleu or use black tape to know that is hot conductor.

{ this part is only legit with cable but for indivual conductors in conduit it is not legit }

Merci.
Marc
I was just going by what the OP said:

Quote:
the recepticle however has 1 brass (hot) one silver (neutral) and a green (ground)
either the OP doesn't have the 240 v recep or there is a 240 volt recep with a silver screw.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 01:07 PM
neutral wire became ground? okedomantakeshi Electrical 18 12-29-2009 03:18 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
240V Electric Heater install - 3 wire vs. 4 wire? dhgarage Electrical 7 12-12-2008 10:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts