4 Recessed Lights And Only 1 Powers - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-07-2009, 07:54 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 recessed lights and only 1 powers


4 recessed lights in square pattern in kitchen.. 1 of 4 lights gets power.. The other 3 don't power..

I have a Y connection running off the main to the 2 front kitchen lights and then those 2 spots i tapped off of to connect the other rear 2..

Each light has a 4 port insert connector on (halo 6inch remodel housing)... Have those been known to cause trouble or is there a particular order they must be connected in for those ports??

I know my connection from the main Y'd of the main is solid.. I used all 12 guage wireing..
nyfilm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2009, 09:15 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Any suggestions?
nyfilm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2009, 10:02 AM   #3
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,246
Rewards Points: 584
Default


Did you physically check for voltage at each fixture? This must be done first. Are these florescent fixtures? Are they new? Did they work before? If power is present in the connection box, it has to be the fixture. However, I do not understand all of your statements, so I really do not know what you are talking about. "Y" connection. What do you mean by this and what country are you in.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2009, 10:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default


It sounds like your problem is at the "Y" connection, if that connection was good and proper you would at least have 2 lights with power.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:42 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I found the issue.. The Halo trim has a housing on it that mounts to the light socket... The halo trim brase was made a little too narrow... causing the bulbs to be slightly ajar... Who would have thought.. i cursed myself.. I couldnt believe it.. Of all things.. The housing around the socket due to that it was tight made it believe it was all the way in ...

Lesson learned.. At least my connections and wireing was secure..


Thanks...
nyfilm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts