3way With With Pilot Light? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-29-2019, 01:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 866
Rewards Points: 1,052
Default

3way with with pilot light?


I have switches for my garage in the garage and in the entryway. I am always forgetting to turn the light out when I come in. You can't see it from the house, so it can stay on for a day or so.

If I could get a switch with a pilot light that would solve my problem. Unfortunately the power comes in at the entryway and that won't work on the only switch I can find; it powers the pilot light with a jumper off the wire that goes to the light. That would be fine for the switch in the garage, but I don't need it there. It would require an extra wire run from one switch to the other, and it is all drywalled; so that's not going to happen.

Any suggestions? I mean other than being more careful. Thanks
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2019, 02:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 698
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


install a timer switch that automatically turns the lights off after X number of mins
anyacolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2019, 02:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,447
Rewards Points: 1,276
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


ditto on the timer switch or


put a motion sensor in the garage and it will turn on and off automatically when you are there.
Attached Thumbnails
3way with with pilot light?-white-lithonia-lighting-motion-sensors-cmr-9-64_1000.jpg  
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2019, 03:29 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
TarheelTerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 4,864
Rewards Points: 4,406
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
You can't see it from the house, so it can stay on for a day or so.
Make your own pilot light.
Add another fixture somewhere that you CAN see from the house
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 03:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 866
Rewards Points: 1,052
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Since it is all drywalled, adding ceiling motion sensors or convenient pilot lights isn't going to work. I've added wires to insulated walls before, and even when it is easy, it isn't.

The timer idea is good, but all the ones on Amazon was programmable and inappropriate. I found one that just has you push a button for 5 or 10 minutes or whatever, but the reviews say it isn't 3way. Since it only has 3 wires coming out of it; I think they are correct.

BUT... there are 3way motion sensors that turn off after a preset time when there is no occupancy. It will be blocked by a car, so I don't think it will work as a motion sensor, but if i can turn the inside switch on, and the motion sensor will turn it off 30 minutes later, that will work. I have posted a question to see if that is true.

Appreciate everyone's help.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 04:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Airy North Carolina
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Here you go, a simple 3-way switch with a pilot light.


http://waterheatertimer.org/How-to-w...ht-switch.html


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
HandyAndyInNC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 04:43 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,143
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Install LED lamps and don't worry about leaving them on.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,084
Rewards Points: 70
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Quote:
Here you go, a simple 3-way switch with a pilot light.
It won’t work without a neutral.

A 3way between a detached garage and the house must originate from the garage. Installed with xx/3 wiring, you have 2 travelers and one common (or switched power) going back to the garage. There is no neutral in that cable or conduit. (It would have to be a real recent xx/4 (or xx/2/2) cable to have a neutral)

No, you are not allowed to grab a house circuit neutral even if it is in the same multi-gang box.

Last edited by Oso954; 01-29-2019 at 05:06 PM.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:04 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,943
Rewards Points: 29,228
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HandyAndyInNC View Post
Here you go, a simple 3-way switch with a pilot light.


http://waterheatertimer.org/How-to-w...ht-switch.html


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
Won't work unless you install it at the switch with the load and a neutral. Op has stated that is the switch in the garage, not the one in the house.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 866
Rewards Points: 1,052
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HandyAndyInNC View Post
Here you go, a simple 3-way switch with a pilot light.


http://waterheatertimer.org/How-to-w...ht-switch.html


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
If you look at the wiring diagram about 1/3rd down the page, there is a hot, two travelers, and a 4th wire that come from the bulb that powers the pilot. I have no way to run that wire.
The diagram shows it coming from the bulb's neutral while Leviton has it coming from the bulbs hot; but since I can't get at either...
The switch in the garage can get at the bulb's hot, but I can see the bulb from there and don't need a pilot.

I think the LED bulb might be the best idea. If I leave it on a few extra days, its no biggy.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 05:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,290
Rewards Points: 374
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Install an illuminated 3-way in the entryway. When it's illuminated, the garage light is out. When it's not illuminated, the garage light is on.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 02:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 866
Rewards Points: 1,052
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


The illuminated switch is the opposite of what I want, but thought it might work. But they say it is only for incandescent bulbs. Apparently LEDs don't draw enough current to make the switch go dim. Oh well.

But, I might have an answer.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...WCSQNKZTF29XMM
Guy with one says that he tried turning it on with the regular switch and the motion sensor switch turned it off after the preset time.
I think that is as close as I am going to get.

Again, I appreciate everyone's help.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 03:04 PM   #13
Contractor/Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Desert Hot Springs, CA
Posts: 572
Rewards Points: 1,136
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


Insteon switches.

They have indicator lights and communicate through your existing wiring.

I've used them for years and you can add switches to any room without the need to run a new wire from that location to the fixture.

A little pricey - but you'll love them!
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 03:09 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Airy North Carolina
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Re: 3way with with pilot light?


There is just no pleasing this person. Then figure out something for yourself that will work for you. If you really wanted a switch with a pilot light, you would find a way to get another wire out there.


How about just work on your memory with some ginkgo biloba.



Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
HandyAndyInNC is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a light to the end of a 4way switch circuit TheFutureYou Electrical 17 10-23-2018 08:33 AM
Pilot light nozzle/orifice emits gas, but doesn't stay lit. hellohello HVAC 2 10-12-2018 02:16 AM
Carrier 58GSC Furness- Got Pilot but Burners Won't Light Up and Run sellstuff HVAC 13 12-04-2017 12:30 AM
Pilot light wont stay lit...Circuit problems? Lavid2002 Appliances 3 12-09-2012 04:21 PM
Question on the ever popular pilot light Bushman HVAC 5 10-14-2012 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts