3 Way Switch Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-23-2013, 11:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

3 way switch question


I have two 3-way switches for a hallway light. It looks like power comes into each switch from a different cable for each. Does this sound right. If I connect the cable for the line coming in from the breaker to the wire going to the top switch I get power only to that switch and not to the bottom. The switch on the bottom has a red black and white that goes down to the same box that the first is connected to but at this point I did not connect it back since the wire going to the top switch only has a back and white. Any help appreciated. I am confused here.
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2013, 11:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default


there won't be two incoming sources of power for the circuit. based on your description, sounds like two-wire power into one switch, three-wire cable between the switches and then two -wire out to the light at the second switch.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
there won't be two incoming sources of power for the circuit. based on your description, sounds like two-wire power into one switch, three-wire cable between the switches and then two -wire out to the light at the second switch.

Ok this is a very primitive drawing but this is what I am up against. This is what it looks like at the box in the basement.
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch question-image.jpg  
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2013, 12:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default


is that the box with the light in it?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 12:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
is that the box with the light in it?
No it is just the box with the wires in it The light and switches are upstairs in a hallway. One switch is at the top of the stairs with the light and the other switch is at the bottom of the stairs.
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 12:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankbruno View Post
No it is just the box with the wires in it The light and switches are upstairs in a hallway. One switch is at the top of the stairs with the light and the other switch is at the bottom of the stairs.
If I connect the. 3 blacks together and 3 whites together I get power at both switches but the light does not go on. I do not know where the red would get connected to complete this I guess
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


How was it wired before? And why did you touch it?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default


you'll need to expand your sketch. show the box, the switches and the light and the wires between them. the sketch you posted seems to indicate two-wire to the switch, which makes no sense. there needs to be three-wire at each switch for a three-way to work.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 12:39 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankbruno View Post
If I connect the. 3 blacks together and 3 whites together I get power at both switches but the light does not go on. I do not know where the red would get connected to complete this I guess
Just a guess, but I would feed the black going to the 3 wire cable, Red and white would be travelers, the remaining whites get tied together, and the remaining black would go to the odd colored screw on the 3-way switch….
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 12:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
How was it wired before? And why did you touch it?
Before there were 3 breaks in the box. One went to a outlet that a microwave was used and an out let for the gas stove. The 2nd went to a bathroom and the 3rd was this one one day while using the microwave the power went out and it was not just a tripped breaker. Turned out the liner from the breaker to this box had to be replaced. So when I replaced it I ran one new line for the microwave and gas stove. A new one for the bath room and now I want to either tie this one back into the bathroom or it's own line. And yes I made the big mistake of not labeling how it was before. Now I don't know how to get it back

I'll run down and take a few pics to show what I am looking at.
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 12:57 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankbruno View Post
Before there were 3 breaks in the box. One went to a outlet that a microwave was used and an out let for the gas stove. The 2nd went to a bathroom and the 3rd was this one one day while using the microwave the power went out and it was not just a tripped breaker. Turned out the liner from the breaker to this box had to be replaced. So when I replaced it I ran one new line for the microwave and gas stove. A new one for the bath room and now I want to either tie this one back into the bathroom or it's own line. And yes I made the big mistake of not labeling how it was before. Now I don't know how to get it back

I'll run down and take a few pics to show what I am looking at.
I'll tell you this, in order to make a circuit work, you need to know where the wires go, from that point, you can make the correct splices. It's not rocket science by any means, but you have to figure out exactly where everything goes, there is more than one way to wire something.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 01:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
How was it wired before? And why did you touch it?
Here is the picture
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch question-image.jpg  
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:55 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,442
Rewards Points: 5,140
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lê Trần Hiếu View Post
<p></p> <p>*</p> Sản phẩm / Dịch vụ thuê xe


Chúng tôi chuyên nhận chạy xe hợp đồng, xe du lịch cho các tổ chức, cơ quan, cá nhân,.. trên địa bàn Hà Nội, Thanh Hóa và các tỉnh lân cận. Với các loại xe hơi từ 4, 8, 16, 29 chỗ phục vụ đưa đón sếp, nhân viên, khách đi lẻ (sân bay, nội thành, các tỉnh, du lịch,..). Có tài xế đưa đón tận nơi,giá rẻ.Làm việc cả thứ 7, CN và ngày lễ.Hân hạnh phục vụ.Mọi chi tiết xin liên hê:
Địa chỉ: Số 12 Linh Đàm - Hoàng Liệt -Hoàng Mai-HN

Điện thoại: (04) 36419720 Fax: (04) 36419719
Holine: 0915.500.911
Y/M: enterscvietnam - Skype: enterscvietnam
Email: [email protected] - [email protected]
Website: http://www.enterscvietnam.com

VPGD Tại Hà Nội
Địa chỉ: 220 Đường Láng - Quận Đống Đa - Hà Nội
Holine: 0912.209.280
VPGD Tại TP. HCM
Số: 10 Đường 3/2 Phường 12 - Quận 10 - TP. HCM
Holine: 0917.527.008VPGD Tại Đà Nẵng
Số 41 Lê Duẩn – Q. Hải Châu – TP. Đà Nẵng
Holine: 0986.192.137
VPGD Tại TP.Thanh Hóa:
Địa chỉ: Số 25 Phố Nam Cao - Phường Tân Sơn – TP. Thanh Hóa
Điện thoại: (037) 3855358 Fax: (037) 3855359
Holine: 0914.810.886
That works for me.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (11-23-2013), tfo411 (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 02:05 PM   #14
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,103
Rewards Points: 29,540
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You can't make it work with those wires.
Where is light connected into this set up?
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Frankbruno (11-23-2013)
Old 11-23-2013, 02:20 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You can't make it work with those wires.
Where is light connected into this set up?

Ok I wrote down all the wires that we're going into one box. ( see attached pic).

I am trying to find how these all go back together again. (They were all connected somehow in this box before) I know I did the mother of all mistakes by not labeling them.

The outlet that says stove is for a gas stove not an electric stove.
Attached Thumbnails
3 way switch question-image.jpg  

Last edited by Frankbruno; 11-23-2013 at 02:23 PM.
Frankbruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switch wiring question brightlight Electrical 8 12-30-2014 06:50 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
3 way switch question brons2 Electrical 11 03-08-2010 02:58 PM
Another 3-way switch question. perpetual98 Electrical 10 07-21-2009 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts