3 Sets Of Wires Going To 1 Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 07:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3 sets of wires going to 1 outlet


is it safe to put anothert set of wires into an outlet that already has 2 set of wires going to them (black,white and ground) there connected via the pushins in the back of the outlet leaving the 2 brass and 2 neutral free.

Last edited by cejkwo; 06-30-2010 at 07:14 PM.
cejkwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 07:50 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,387
Rewards Points: 3,644
Default


The backstabs are only for one wire each. you can join the wires together with a short length of the correct gauge and then connect to the screws.

You may not have enough cubic inch capacity to add more cables.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
cejkwo (07-01-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 08:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The backstabs are only for one wire each. you can join the wires together with a short length of the correct gauge and then connect to the screws.

You may not have enough cubic inch capacity to add more cables.
think you misunderstood. there is only 1 wire in each, the brass and neutral SCREWS are not in use, can I use them giving the outlet 3 sets of wires, I want to go from this outlet to power another outlet that I want to add
cejkwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 09:01 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Well, you can do what ever you want but the correct way is to remove the four wires from the push in connectors and then use a wire nut and add a short piece of wire to each group. Then connect the short wires to one screw on each side of the outlet. White to silver, black to bronze. The grounds will have to be pigtailed together too.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
cejkwo (07-01-2010)
Old 06-30-2010, 09:03 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,133
Rewards Points: 922
Default


Yes, you can use the screws to add wire for another receptacle.
The problem you run into is the box may be too small code wise to handle another set of wires.

If you go throught the trouble of adding more wires, the use the pigtail to make the connections.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
cejkwo (07-01-2010)
Old 07-01-2010, 09:00 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,750
Rewards Points: 23,842
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Yes you can add another wire to the screws. Most will recommend not using the pushins. They are a very common cause of open connections.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
cejkwo (07-02-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two hot wires to same outlet yeterp Electrical 7 08-01-2009 07:18 AM
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 12:53 PM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 11:12 AM
Help with outlet controlled by switch craigpall Electrical 2 05-18-2008 08:08 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts