3-Phase Distribution Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By The-SPeculator
  • 1 Post By COLDIRON
  • 1 Post By Shadow99
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-12-2017, 05:33 AM   #1
Mexican Electricity....
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

3-Phase Distribution Panel


Morning All!
This is quite an involved question so will outline the background first.

I am renovating a house in Mexico and need to first update the main incoming distribution panel.

The house has 3-Phase supply with three analogue meters(CFE, Mexico electrical authority upgrading to digital with appropriate neutral and grounding)
I will end up with new L1, L2, L3 and N meter tails.

As some of the renovation work will entail the use of building equipment with 3-Phase motors (cement mixer etc) i would like to install a 3-Phase (and 240v) sockets.

Now, the bit I am unsure about is that I would like to have a master board at the house gate with the 3-Phase and auxiliary sockets and then the three lines are distributed to various places in the property where there are three independent sub-distribution panels with all the MCCB, RCD, MCB's etc.
The three areas are:
* Main house
* Bedroom Wing
* Guest house and garage and single phase water pump

How would the master board be wired? would the following be correct?

Power from meters/outside


N L1 L2 L3

------------
Disconnect Schneider INS125 4P
------------


------------
N x x x 3 100A fuses on Line, (they like fuses in Mexico...)
------------

------- L3 to Main House ----Sub board with protection and circuits
--------- L2 to Bedrooms ----Sub board with protection and circuits
----------- L1 to Guest, Garage -Sub board with protection and circuits


----------------------
63A MCCB 4Pole Schneider LV429572
----------------------


-------------
3-Phase
Socket
-------------

any thoughts or comments much appreciated

Regards

TC
The-SPeculator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2017, 06:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,742
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Re: 3-Phase Distribution Panel


The house your referring to has to be a farm, industrial building, commercial building.

Your dealing with something that's not considered residential electrical. At least in the USA.

There are many experienced people on this site that know 3 phase wiring .

I think it's in your best interest to call a Pro Electrician.

The work your considering needs a licensed Pro.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2017, 06:17 AM   #3
Mexican Electricity....
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Re: 3-Phase Distribution Panel


Thanks Coldiron,

No, it is a house, on an acre of land.
3-Phase is quite common here in Mexico and also in my home country of New Zealand, albeit that is 230v system of course.

The quality of wiring here leaves a lot to be desired. I'd rather get a solution to present to a "professional" rather than ask them outright
Blue Marjan likes this.
The-SPeculator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2017, 07:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,742
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Re: 3-Phase Distribution Panel


I was not aware of the Electrical Distribution system in Mexico.

Maybe someone will come along and answer your questions.

Although I have been involved with 3 Phase for many years in industrial and commercial properties and Mechanical systems. I will leave this to someone much more experienced in this than me. Good Luck I am out.
The-SPeculator likes this.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 09:23 AM   #5
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,072
Rewards Points: 6,142
Default

Re: 3-Phase Distribution Panel


Don't know if this will help but up here the simplest way to do this
would be something like this:

meter- fused disconnect- splitter -4 fused disconnects - to sub-panels

Can't find a picture online but the 4 fused disc's would usually sit side
by side beneath the splitter with 4 conduits connecting them to the
splitter.
Attached Images
 
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 01:01 PM   #6
Deleted Member
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 429
Rewards Points: 858
Default

Re: 3-Phase Distribution Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by The-SPeculator View Post
Thanks Coldiron,

No, it is a house, on an acre of land.
3-Phase is quite common here in Mexico and also in my home country of New Zealand, albeit that is 230v system of course.

The quality of wiring here leaves a lot to be desired. I'd rather get a solution to present to a "professional" rather than ask them outright
I'll second @COLDIRON Get 2 or 3 guys out to get ideas/quotes.

Nobody can approve your disconnects/loads without a load calc.
Also, you have 120V going to the house/guest/garage ?? (w/o disconnects as well)

Not a DIY project IMO.
Paulusgnome likes this.
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird 3 phase panel ionized Electrical 4 01-27-2014 06:01 PM
3 phase panel and single phase service macster44 Electrical 5 01-07-2014 10:21 AM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Single Phase Sub Panel from 3 Phase Power supply The Quan Electrical 1 10-30-2011 06:50 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts