240v To Sub Panel? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 11:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S. California
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default

240v to sub panel?


I would like to install a sub panel in my garage. I have installed 120v subpanel before. I would like to use a already existing 240 wiring from the house to the garage I would like to keep a 240 circuit and some 120's. My question is instead of running the black wire from one post to the other(what i gather is bonding). Can I run the black wire to one post and the red wire to the other? Or? by the way the sub panel has no main breaker, do I have to have a main? Pretty much what im asking is how do i do it correctly? Thank you for your time.
rsclark67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2010, 11:59 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I will make it very simple question here .,,

Is your garage is attached or detached ??


The reason why I ask due there is big diffrence on the code { regulations } you can do with subpanel in the attached garage and deattached garage.

To make it worst ., the detached garage only can allow one MWBC { multi wire branch circuit } the attached garage is unlimited.

Once we know the question then we will go from there.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2010, 11:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


You may have in the past wired up a 120/240 volt subpanel for 120 volt circuits only where you connected the hot (black) feed wire to both hot posts or lugs.

For 240 volts you must connect one hot feed (black) to just one post and connect the other hot feed (red, may be white for 240 volt only feeds) to the other post.

A subpanel does not need a master breaker. Its feed will be from a breaker in the main panel (breaker pair for 240 and 120/240 volt feeds).

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
To make it worst ., the detached garage only can allow one MWBC { multi wire branch circuit } the attached garage is unlimited.
Meaning: you may not have one cable going between the (separate) buildings for the 120 volt loads and another cable to feed the 240 volt loads.

120/240 volt circuit -- another name for multiwire branch circuit with two hots (240 volts) and one neutral.

Bonding -- Electrically connecting via metal to metal contact, via jumper wire, etc. two or more objects for example the ground bus bar (terminal strip) to the panel frame (can; housing).
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-16-2010 at 11:31 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2010, 02:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S. California
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default


thank you. I do have an attached garage. but im only running only one wire to the subpanel(240). So the wire question(hots) is answered. Now if I do this Ican run both a 240 and 120 from that box ?
rsclark67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 02:55 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsclark67 View Post
thank you. I do have an attached garage. but im only running only one wire to the subpanel(240). So the wire question(hots) is answered. Now if I do this Ican run both a 240 and 120 from that box ?
As long as the new subpanel is fed with 4 wires (H, H, N, G) then you will have 120/240V available.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 03:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: S. California
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Thank you for the info. All my questions are answered for now. When I am finished with this thread is there a way to signify that? Or does it not matter?

Last edited by rsclark67; 02-16-2010 at 03:06 PM.
rsclark67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsclark67 View Post
Thank you for the info. All my questions are answered for now. When I am finished with this thread is there a way to signify that? Or does it not matter?
Nope - nothing needed to close a thread, your thank you works great.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
240v sub panel hook up with no neutral ut74 Electrical 7 03-07-2008 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts