240V Floor Stand Lamp - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-25-2010, 09:42 AM   #16
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,844
Rewards Points: 24,030
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You can not put a dimmer on a receptacle. Someone might plug something other than a lamp into the receptacle. Only hard wired fixtures can have dimmers.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2010, 10:02 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You can not put a dimmer on a receptacle. Someone might plug something other than a lamp into the receptacle. Only hard wired fixtures can have dimmers.
Hi,

is this by code?
I am surprised if it is so but ready to accept it if have to.
So, are the dimmers here sold only to pilot the light you have at the ceiling in a room?

For instance, in the basement I have found a dimmer that pilots 4 lamps in the room, basically all the lights in the basement, does this mean it is hard wiring? When I say "I have found" I mean that this is what I found in the property which was previously owned by somebody else.

Alex

Last edited by Metallo; 12-25-2010 at 10:05 AM.
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2010, 10:18 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


That is correct, dimmers are for hardwired inplace lighting.
Lamps can only be dimmed if they come with a dimmer on them.
I'm not sure a halogen lamp can dimmed anyway.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2010, 06:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Unpredictable, likely damaging, things happen when a dimmer is connected to a device not intended for that kind of dimmer or any kind of dimmer.

So a dimmer must not be wired into a circuit that controls receptacles.

Halogen (quartz-iodine; tungsten-halogen) lights can be controlled by any kind of dimmer. Halide lights (metal-halide; a kind of mercury lamp) cannot.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 07:21 PM   #20
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,844
Rewards Points: 24,030
Blog Entries: 11
Default


A receptacle could have many things plugged into it including vacuums, televisions, radios, etc. None of those items would react very well to a dimmed voltage.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:57 PM   #21
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,280
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default


If the dimmer was completely out of circuit ?
And you are sure only 120v was applied to the lamp ?
Then its a problem with the lamp .
Possibly dirty contacts.
These linear tunsten halogen tubes do run very hot !
This is normal for these lamps.
But any foreign matter on the glass envelope of the tube,
will cause burns and possibbly failure.
Also there are a lot of really low quality lamps
in the market place which can quickely fail.
Try a good quality lamp,
And clean it with metho and a paper towel.
But its normal for these lamps to run quite hot !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallo View Post
Hi there!

I just moved to Canada and brought with me some of my 240V stuff, including a floor stand lamp.
Now, the lamp includes a dimmer so what I did, I just unplugged the dimmer from the lamp, bought a 120V 300W linear halogen tube, fixed it and tried to plug the lamp in the receptacle.

After 10 secs, I saw some smoke out of the halogen bulb and unplugged the whole thing immediately.

Dos it have to do with the internal lamp wiring/connections being for 240V and amperage??

Can you help me to get it to work properly?
If I need to change the internal wiring and connections I have no problem in doing it.

Thank you!
Alex
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 12:53 PM   #22
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,873
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default


You can however, switch the recepticle and then add a dimmer to the lamp. Same thing just a different way of getting the results you are looking for.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:45 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


OK, if this is forbidden by code, I follow the code.

The dimmer I bought is for incandescent/halogen lamps, so that would not be an issue. I am just surprised the code impose this because the risks some of you mention are not a risk in reality. Basically, you choose a corner in the room where your floor lamp will stay and by this I mean, stay forever, nobody will ever plug anything else in there.
That's why in Europe this is normal practice and never heard of a problem.
But again, if this is the code, I will respect it.

Presently, I am using the dimmer incorporated in the floor lamp, it works fine even if the the operating scale is different, but so far everything is good and if you confirm the code forbids me to apply a switch control, I will continue to operate the lamp as it is.

Thanks for your help folks.

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 02:17 PM   #24
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,873
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default


Code doesn't prevent you from adding a switched outlet, just can't have a dimmer inplace of a switch.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 02:20 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
Code doesn't prevent you from adding a switched outlet, just can't have a dimmer inplace of a switch.
OK, got the point. Thanks!
Does this apply to Canada as well? I guess so, but just to be 100% sure.

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 240V Wall Heater with 240V Base Board Heater jasoncw Electrical 7 11-26-2010 10:39 AM
Halide High Bay Wiring 240v MarsHangar Electrical 1 08-11-2010 11:06 AM
Strange 240v outlet BearcatBengal Electrical 30 03-02-2010 11:10 PM
New 240V receptacle reads zero volts Madroaster Electrical 32 09-19-2009 12:35 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts