240V Floor Stand Lamp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 06:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default

240V Floor Stand Lamp


Hi there!

I just moved to Canada and brought with me some of my 240V stuff, including a floor stand lamp.
Now, the lamp includes a dimmer so what I did, I just unplugged the dimmer from the lamp, bought a 120V 300W linear halogen tube, fixed it and tried to plug the lamp in the receptacle.

After 10 secs, I saw some smoke out of the halogen bulb and unplugged the whole thing immediately.

Dos it have to do with the internal lamp wiring/connections being for 240V and amperage??

Can you help me to get it to work properly?
If I need to change the internal wiring and connections I have no problem in doing it.

Thank you!
Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 8,735
Rewards Points: 1,544
Default


Quote:
I just moved to Canada
Ayuh,... From Where,..??
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 07:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondo View Post
Ayuh,... From Where,..??
From Europe, sorry I completely forgot to mention it...

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2010, 07:34 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,853
Rewards Points: 24,048
Blog Entries: 11
Default


What was in there before you installed the 120 volt 300w tube? What is burnt? The wires? The socket? The fixture around the lamp?
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 07:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
What was in there before you installed the 120 volt 300w tube? What is burnt? The wires? The socket? The fixture around the lamp?
Hi Joed,

well, the lamp can host halogen tube bulbs till 500W and the dimmer that was plugged as an extension cord could manage till 600W (it came with the lamp when I bought it years ago), this under 240V.

Well, actually I just changed the bulb to the 120V 300W halogen tube and just plugged the lamp in the socket (120V) because I wanted to see if it worked fine, after 10 secs I have seen that the bulb was smoking due to the heat, I just unplugged the socket and realized that the bulb was obviously too hot for such a short time, therefore I am wondering what was wrong with it. I do not think the halogen tube is burnt, I was quick enough to avoid it
Socket and wire look OK, that's why I am surprised.

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:15 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


How did yoou plug the 240 volt plug into a 120 receptacle?
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
How did yoou plug the 240 volt plug into a 120 receptacle?
For the test I just used a plug adapter, but I want to buy a plug tomorrow and change it.

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:21 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


Did you handle the bulb with bare hands?
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Did you handle the bulb with bare hands?
No, I always use paper for halogen bulbs.

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:28 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallo View Post
No, I always use paper for halogen bulbs.

Alex
Well, it was just a swag.

I have seen bulb burn because they were not seated into the sockets good enough.

Good luck. I can't think of anything else to offer.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 08:38 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Well, it was just a swag.

I have seen bulb burn because they were not seated into the sockets good enough.

Good luck. I can't think of anything else to offer.
Well, tomorrow I will double check if the bulb is not properly seated in the socket.

I have another question, I have at least 4 table lamps with 12V halogen bulbs, but clearly they have a transformer in their wiring from 240V to 12V.
How would you change those lamps to operate at 120V > 12V?

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:04 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Let's investigate whether or not his "plug adapter" is a transformer.

240V to a 120V lamp will defnitely cause a problem.

Otherwise, I'm reckoning some sort of foreign material was in there, possibly picked up during the transport process. A good cleaning is my prescription.
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:52 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Hmmm. Rewiring the lamp fixture to take a 120 volt bulb which is put in. Then plugging the fixture into a transformer adapter unit that steps up the incoming 120 volts to 240 ...

Was the bulb unusually bright?

A 240 volt dimmer will usually work on 120 volts although the dimming and brightening range may work erratically.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 09:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


No, I did not say I have used a step-up transformer, I could but it does not make much sense for a lamp, I think.

By "plug adapter" I simply meant a flat type A, like the travel adapters you use to match a plug in a different socket,

I hope today to have time to buy a polarized 1-15P plug (three prongs), I think this is the correct name here in NA?

Before trying again, I want to change the plug... cannot say whether the bulb was usually bright or not, but it looked OK for the few secs. it was on.

Once I have tried, I will let you know whether it exploded or not

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 08:58 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, (NB) Canada
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 163
Default


Hi,

I made sure the bulb was properly seated in the socket, I changed the European plug to a Canadian standard 3 prong one, also, I added its own dimmer and... it works! The dimmer does not work as in 240V, but you can use it.

However, I still prefer to pilot the lamp from a dedicated switch, I bought a dimmer for the switch, can you suggest the most practical and safe way to link the switch to a chosen receptacle where the floor stand lamp will be permanently plugged in? I am new to this but I am easy with DIY tasks, electrical included, so I imagine I need to check the receptacle and see where the wiring goes to... but I am sure you can provide some additional good tip.

Thank you all!
Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 240V Wall Heater with 240V Base Board Heater jasoncw Electrical 7 11-26-2010 10:39 AM
Halide High Bay Wiring 240v MarsHangar Electrical 1 08-11-2010 11:06 AM
Strange 240v outlet BearcatBengal Electrical 30 03-02-2010 11:10 PM
New 240V receptacle reads zero volts Madroaster Electrical 32 09-19-2009 12:35 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts