240 To 120 Range Outlet Conversion - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 09:55 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240 to 120 range outlet conversion


I just converted my kitchen from an electric range to an all gas range. The installation directions call for plugging the new range into a dedicated 120V grounded outlet to drive the clock and controls. To avoid running additional lines, I would like to take the existing run that used to power the 240V three pronged outlet with 40a breakers and use it for a new 120V GROUNDED outlet protected by a 20a breaker. Since this old work doesn't have a dedicated ground, would it be appropriate to use one of the old "hot" wires and turn it into a ground? Doing this would require a pigtail in the breaker box... and that doesn't seem right. Bottom line, what should I do to make this right? Thanks!
Cousteau135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 10:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


What size wires are ging to the stove & how many ?

Usually you would install a 20a breaker, pigtail #12 wires & connect
You need a hot, white neutral & a ground
And install a normal outlet at the other end

Might also consider leaving it & just running a 20a outlet
But most people do not change from a gas stove back to electric



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2010, 11:10 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I'm really not sure of the size (either a #8 or #6) but the 2 hot wires of the 3 from the box are protected by dual 40 amp breakers.

Correct me if I'm wrong, due to existing wire length, the ground and neutral will need to be on the same bar. As I understand it, that is acceptable... correct?
Cousteau135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2010, 07:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If the wires go back to a Main panel then the ground & nuetrals can be mixed
If they go to a sub panel then they are on seperate bars & neutral must be isolated from the case



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:56 AM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Is your wiring an SE cable with a bare neutral?
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 01:20 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for the replies. Nope, it isn't SE and it is going back to the main breaker panel.
Cousteau135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 02:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cousteau135 View Post
I'm really not sure of the size (either a #8 or #6) but the 2 hot wires of the 3 from the box are protected by dual 40 amp breakers.

Correct me if I'm wrong, due to existing wire length, the ground and neutral will need to be on the same bar. As I understand it, that is acceptable... correct?
Three wires. What three colors? Forget the connections for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cousteau135 View Post
Thanks for the replies. Nope, it isn't SE and it is going back to the main breaker panel.
What type of cable is it? Is it a conduit with wires inside it?

3 wires is exactly what you need for a 20 amp circuit. 1-Hot, 1-Neutral and 1-ground. So tell us what type of cable you have or if you have conduit and what color wires you have. We may be able to use this circuit as is.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Outlet Conversion 230/110 mcbuster Electrical 11 07-20-2009 01:03 PM
Replace Range Outlet Suncrest79 Electrical 22 04-14-2009 11:32 PM
Dryer outlet vs. Range outlet cindakay Electrical 24 04-13-2009 06:01 PM
Range outlet pushes oven too far from wall givemeabreak Electrical 8 08-19-2008 12:14 AM
changing a range outlet or plug marty7 Electrical 9 12-17-2007 10:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts