220 Ground Wire Size. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 08:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Rewards Points: 250
Default

220 Ground wire size.


I plan to run single conductor #6 to another part of my garage. It will power a small 220 welder and a few other tools. I have enough #6 to supply the two line supplies and enough #8 for the ground.
Will this be OK?
I ask this because I have seen a lot of romex type cable with the ground being a smaller gauge.
What is the ruling and what needs to be considered conserning the size of the ground in a 220 circuit?
Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 08:11 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,158
Rewards Points: 960
Default


Does all of the equipment use the same receptacle as the welder.
If you have enough wire, run 3 #6, and a #8, using the third #6 as a neutral, and insatll a 4 circuit subpanel.
You can then run a couple of different size circuit for the equipment.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


The ground size is based on the breaker size, not the wire.

A #10 ground is good for any circuit up to 60 amps, #8 is 100 amps.

You can go larger, but not smaller.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
What size wire and what kind of conduit... epeterson777 Electrical 15 02-21-2009 07:43 PM
ground wire in rigid conduit measure thrice Electrical 3 02-03-2009 05:25 AM
ground wire in mc circuit woodturner Electrical 10 08-07-2008 11:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts