20A Line, 15A Receptacle - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 03:23 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


What happens when you just plug a light into the oulet? does the breaker trip? If it still trips wouldn't that mean it's clearly a mis wire or open somewhere in the circut?
justlosther is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 07:10 PM   #17
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default


It's totally legal and fine to put a 15 amp on a 20 amp circuit. Sounds like you have something touching in the outlet box. I bet it's a metal box correct? Remove the outlet and tape the screws on the outlet just make sure you don't have anything touching. Before you screw the outlet back into the box turn the breaker back on to make sure it doesn't spark. You should be fine
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 08:48 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default


It is important to clarify that a single 15A receptacle can only be used on a 20A circuit if it is not the only receptacle on the circuit.

Previous posts are saying the same thing, in that:

A simplex 15a outlet can't be installed on a 20a circuit under NEC code
A 15a DUPLEX can
[I know Scuba means it can't be installed by itself ]

To clarify, you can use 15 amp simplex receptacles on a 20 amp circuit. [...correct...]

It's totally legal and fine to put a 15 amp on a 20 amp circuit. [...correct, as long as there is more than one...]
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 08:54 PM   #19
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by williswires View Post
It is important to clarify that a single 15A receptacle can only be used on a 20A circuit if it is not the only receptacle on the circuit.

Previous posts are saying the same thing, in that:

A simplex 15a outlet can't be installed on a 20a circuit under NEC code
A 15a DUPLEX can
[I know Scuba means it can't be installed by itself ]

To clarify, you can use 15 amp simplex receptacles on a 20 amp circuit. [...correct...]

It's totally legal and fine to put a 15 amp on a 20 amp circuit. [...correct, as long as there is more than one...]

Your correct I didn't realize it was a single outlet
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking cast iron drain pipes + roots in 4" main line aminus21 Plumbing 5 09-25-2010 10:21 AM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM
Add natural gas line Tukeeman Plumbing 11 12-01-2008 07:53 AM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts