20a To 15a Adapter For Treadmill? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-15-2010, 12:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20a to 15a adapter for treadmill?


I bought a commercial treadmill that requires a 20a outlet because of the right angle prongs. I only have a 15a breaker. I can't tell what guage the wire is. So I don't know if I should replace the breaker with a 20a one and replace the outlet. or there is an adapter that converts it for sale. The owners manual says not to use an adapter because it needs to be properly grounded to prevent electrical shock. I don't understand because I thought the only grounding prong was the big fat round one. Any comments? Thanks
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2010, 12:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


The device needs a 20a circuit
So you need to put it on a 20a circuit
Do not install a 20a breaker without verifying that ALL wiring is 12g



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2010, 12:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


If you can make or buy a 20 amp 3 hole receptacle to 15 amp 3 prong plug adapter then it would still be properly grounded. You would have to leave the 15 amp. breaker in place down at the panel if the circuit has 14 gauge wire.

Is there any sticker or nameplate on the treadmill stating how many amps it needs?

The treadmill may or may not draw more than 15 amps and if it does then it will trip a 15 amp breaker.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-15-2010, 12:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,108
Rewards Points: 306
Default


Go here http://www.voltec-industries.com/nema_chart.html and pick the plug you have. Post the NEMA number for that plug. If the treadmill lists the machine for a 20 amp circuit, that's what you will need. You cannot put a 20 amp breaker on #14 wire. It must be #12. While not compliant, if the treadmill current (amps) does not exceed the 15 amp circuits capacity, I would just change the receptacle to match the plug and mark the receptacle as being 15 amp only!

Where are you located?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


None of the wiring is labeled. How can I verify the wiring is 12ga?

Last edited by shockwave; 05-15-2010 at 01:07 PM.
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Go here http://www.voltec-industries.com/nema_chart.html and pick the plug you have. Post the NEMA number for that plug. If the treadmill lists the machine for a 20 amp circuit, that's what you will need. You cannot put a 20 amp breaker on #14 wire. It must be #12. While not compliant, if the treadmill current (amps) does not exceed the 15 amp circuits capacity, I would just change the receptacle to match the plug and mark the receptacle as being 15 amp only!

Where are you located?

The plug is 5-20p. The treadmill is rated for 13a. Washington State
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 03:54 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I just found out that the wiring is 10gauge. Its on a 15a breaker. There are 2 outlets on that breaker
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 04:01 PM   #8
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shockwave View Post
I just found out that the wiring is 10gauge. Its on a 15a breaker. There are 2 outlets on that breaker
If the circuit wire and its respective neutral are both #12 or larger (#10 is larger than #12) you can replace the breaker with a 20-amp breaker and the receptacle with a 20-amp receptacle.

#10 sounds pretty big to have a 15-amp receptacle connected to it...are you sure it is #10?
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 04:24 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,400
Rewards Points: 3,646
Default


Very strange that someone installed wire so large for a 15 amp circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 04:41 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The wire says romex 10/3. Its in the garage, maybe they installed it that for tools?
shockwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:07 PM   #11
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


If the wire is indeed 10/3, it'd be ok to change the breaker to 20 amp. All parts of the circuit must be #12 or larger, it sounds like they are.

I would then get a 20 amp receptacle, it looks just like a 15 amp one, except when looking at it with the ground down, the slot on the left will be a T shape. 20 amp, 125 volt. NEMA 5-20. Don't get the 20 amp 250 volt one. It's the same, except the right slot is T shaped. You can get a single or a duplex, your choice. Around here, the big-box stores have them.

With this, no adapter is needed.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
shockwave (05-15-2010)
Old 05-17-2010, 08:28 AM   #12
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Are you sure all the wiring on this circuit is #10? I would imagine that most of the wiring is hidden in the walls, and there may be other outlets and lights on this circuit as well.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 12:49 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,108
Rewards Points: 306
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Are you sure all the wiring on this circuit is #10? I would imagine that most of the wiring is hidden in the walls, and there may be other outlets and lights on this circuit as well.
If it starts in the panel as #10 and is #10 at the receptacle, its number 10 as far as I am concerned.

OP. You lucked out this. You do know that? That circuit could be 30 amp if you needed it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
15a to 20a , adapter , treadmill


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying laptop ac adapter - Confused. miller108 Electrical 7 01-14-2013 08:49 AM
Vacuum Adapter for Dewalt D26441 llckll Tools 5 02-12-2010 08:21 PM
Trap Adapter Leak? kcrossley2 Plumbing 6 01-27-2010 12:55 AM
Pitless Adapter Submersible Pump Wild Blue Plumbing 5 08-31-2009 01:02 PM
Removing 2" marble toilet flange adapter for handicapped proofer Plumbing 20 04-21-2008 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts