2008 NEC Clearance Requirement Vs. Gas Meter - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-16-2010, 10:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2008 NEC Clearance Requirement vs. Gas Meter


I want to install solar panels, but the inspector believes it is a problem that my electric meter and electrical box are located only 2 feet above the gas meter, and that the electric meter and box will need to be relocated in order to "comply with the clearance requirements as set by the 2008 NEC". My house was built in 1981. 1) Where can I find the specific requirement he is referring to? and 2) Wouldn't there be a "grandfathered" exemption for existing structures? MANY THANKS!!!
cctxcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2010, 10:36 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


electrical box like in you have an outside panel?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,430
Rewards Points: 3,672
Default


Typically clearence between the electric meter and the gas meter can be found in the utilities design book.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2010, 01:30 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


The POCO { Power compaine } and Gaz compaine they will have listing for the requirement for how far you can keep the electric meter and gaz meter apart.

I know mine POCO's in Wisconsin useally ask for 3 foot clearance { they will mesure from the gaz regulator vent opening so that is one way }

In France it is 1.5 meter away.

And what more many POCO and Gaz company will have specfic location they can able use.

Also to head up there will be few new codes issue will come up with solar panels.

You will need disconnect switch for solar panel grid { it have to be rated for DC useage not in AC plus the voltage level can get pretty high as well IIRC for resdentail it can be high as 200 to 300 volts range }

plus few other items it will need so check with POCO and local inspector for latest info due there are some change along the way.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:35 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If your exterior electric box has a means of disconnect, there is a code requirement for working space in front of the electric panel from the floor/ground level up. If the gas meter sits in the required 30"x36" working space it would be a code violation.

I'm not versed on the '08 NEC so I can't say if there's a clearance requirement to a gas meter. To my knowledge previous versions of the NEC didn't have one.

Opinion....
If you're not modifying an existing condition (adding gear alongside the panel, changing the panel, changing the service to the home, etc.), I'd have a hard time understanding the reasoning for giving you a hard time. There's no such thing as "grandfathering" in the code, but common sense usually prevails when dealing with existing structures that don't meet modern codes in one way or another.

My best advice is to request a meeting appointment with the inspector at his office. Take pictures of the condition with you. Request that he help you understand the code requirement, and go over the code documentation that supports his position together.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:38 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
If your exterior electric box has a means of disconnect, there is a code requirement for working space in front of the electric panel from the floor/ground level up. If the gas meter sits in the required 30"x36" working space it would be a code violation.

I'm not versed on the '08 NEC so I can't say if there's a clearance requirement to a gas meter. To my knowledge previous versions of the NEC didn't have one.
KC.,

Just want to give you the head up on NEC code they are semi muted on that and it will fall on POCO jusdistm { their call } on how the meters are mounted and the inspectors as well.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:46 AM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
KC.,

Just want to give you the head up on NEC code they are semi muted on that and it will fall on POCO jusdistm { their call } on how the meters are mounted and the inspectors as well.

Merci.
Marc
but if it is an actual panel, KC's info would come into play. That is why I asked the question I did about it being a panel. Since a panel is about 6" deep, I dounbt the gas equipment is that thin so it would protrude beyond the face of the panel. As such, it is not allowable per NEC.

If it is a meter only, the there is no NEC rule that wouldn't allow it (As far as I know).

Quote:
There's no such thing as "grandfathering" in the code, but common sense usually prevails when dealing with existing structures that don't meet modern codes in one way or another.
Huh? Everything is grandfathered. If it wasn't, everybody would have to be changing their regular breakers to AFCI right now.

If you work on whatever it is, then it must be brought to current code but generally, if an item is not touched, it can stay as is i.e. grandfathered

The problem with the OP is the installation probably wasn't to code when it was installed and overlooked for whatever reason. If it wan't to code at the time of installation, it can be required to be remedied now, at least where I live.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 08:10 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


If this is all existing, turned on and in use.....WHY is it a problem now???
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Clearance avtck HVAC 0 01-02-2010 10:13 PM
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 10:54 AM
Water meter aggravations Ultrarunner2017 Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM
2008 NEC Code & AFCI Requirement theatretch85 Electrical 5 03-12-2009 10:58 PM
Frozen water meter stubborn1 Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 07:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts