200 Amp Feed From 200 Amp Panel? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-28-2010, 05:09 PM   #16
Newbie
 
JackDuich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I don't have a large RV but the workshop I'm building can hold one - I think they have 50amp 110V feeds, which is a ridiculous way of using power, but it is what it is. I know they have 30amp 110 feeds. So, I guess it would be a possible 50 amp load on the neutral. If I have to use 3/0 for the subpanel hots I'd use a 2/0 for the neutral.

I've been told to run at least a #6 for the ground down the conduit with the 2 hots & neutral. Can do. I also believe 1 8' copper ground rod at the sub-panel will suffice. Thought I'd use the same AWG as the neutral to connect the ground rod to the panel ground. That may be overkill since my house feed to 2 200 amp panels is 2 runs of 3/0 with 2/0 neutrals. A single ground rod is near this pair of panels with a 1/0 or 2/0 tied to it.

Thanks for your help - can to comment on my wire size thinking? I was going to use 2/0 hots but was told the sub-panel has to be a size larger than the feeds to the main panel(s). Neutral typicaly 1 size smaller..
JackDuich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2010, 06:24 PM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


Siemens ECLK225 sub-feed lugs.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2010, 01:51 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDuich View Post
I.... I think they have 50amp 110V feeds, which is a ridiculous way of using power, but it is what it is. I know they have 30amp 110 feeds. So, I guess it would be a possible 50 amp load on the neutral. If I have to use 3/0 for the subpanel hots I'd use a 2/0 for the neutral....
Larger RVs have a 50 Amp 240 Volt feed, using a standard range cord configuration NEMA 14-50.

Using a 2/0 for your panel feeder neutral will be sufficient in any case.


Quote:
...I've been told to run at least a #6 for the ground down the conduit with the 2 hots & neutral. Can do. I also believe 1 8' copper ground rod at the sub-panel will suffice. Thought I'd use the same AWG as the neutral to connect the ground rod to the panel ground. That may be overkill since my house feed to 2 200 amp panels is 2 runs of 3/0 with 2/0 neutrals. A single ground rod is near this pair of panels with a 1/0 or 2/0 tied to it....
A ground rod is only capable of dissipating a limited amount of juice. Using anything larger than a #6 is a complete waste of resources, since the ground rod can't handle any more. This has been tested and confirmed by independent labs, and the Code recognizes this limitation.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
GFCI Needed on Sub Panel Feed from Underground? beaker353 Electrical 1 01-13-2010 09:23 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-03-2009 12:22 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts