2 Single Poles To 1 Double GFCI Breaker - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-09-2010, 07:53 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 16
Default


House was built in '82, Guthrie, OK. This is the way it was wired. We didn't change anything.

So, if a 2 pole GFCI breaker won't be beneficial in terms of safety, then that's less money I have to spend. But, the MWBC is on two different (side by side) 20A breakers and they are not connected to each other so they will trip separately.

Thanks for the replies.
nuckphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2010, 12:21 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuckphoto View Post
House was built in '82, Guthrie, OK. This is the way it was wired. We didn't change anything.
I thought you said you did a complete kitchen remodel.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2010, 05:47 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 16
Default


Complete to me is new wallboard, cabinets, plumbing, windows, lighting and appliances. Saw no reason at the time to change electrical. Everything worked fine.
nuckphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2010, 07:52 PM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuckphoto View Post
Complete to me is new wallboard, cabinets, plumbing, windows, lighting and appliances. Saw no reason at the time to change electrical. Everything worked fine.
That term I call good remodel work and I hate to be harsh when the wall was open that time it was a good time to bring it up to the codes I know you don't like to heard it but did you pull the permit for this one ??

I know you say everything work fine but not always the case and it was may be ok in old code cycle but not by today standard.

I have ran into like this situation more than once.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:28 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuckphoto View Post
Complete to me is new wallboard, cabinets, plumbing, windows, lighting and appliances. Saw no reason at the time to change electrical. Everything worked fine.
Yet you never thought to bring the electric up to code?????

That is a complete gut remodel. Your inspector should have made it clear the the wiring had to be updated.
Or, let me guess, there were no inspectors involved, were there?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:30 PM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I have ran into like this situation more than once.
Me too. I get called in pretty frequently to fix screw ups like this.
My favorites are when the building dept wants to set an example and makes the home owner rip all the walls back down to inspect framing, insulation, plumbing and electric.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:39 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Me too. I get called in pretty frequently to fix screw ups like this.
My favorites are when the building dept wants to set an example and makes the home owner rip all the walls back down to inspect framing, insulation, plumbing and electric.
Yeah that what some of the homeowners scream at my ears about this issue good thing I told them just scream at my right ear { I am deaf on the right side anyway } and told them tough crap they have to take everything down per inspector request and blew the budget right out of the window in big time especally with tile walls

That why I always tell the homeowners when they do any remodel once they rip the walls open to bare stud ya have to bring everything up the code.{ few don't like it escpally if they budget it really tight.}

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:42 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 16
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Yet you never thought to bring the electric up to code?????

That is a complete gut remodel. Your inspector should have made it clear the the wiring had to be updated.
Or, let me guess, there were no inspectors involved, were there?
Of course not.

Boy, I'm glad I didn't mention the dryer circuit.

Thanks, I think.
nuckphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 10:19 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Anytime I open a wall I update the electric
Its just common sense
My son's bedroom had 2 outlets when we moved in...now it has 6
Kitchen had (1) 20a circuit for everything, lights on another circuit
Now I have 3 20a counter circuits & dedicated circuit for the fridge

Not updating the electric in a kitchen is just completely wrong on a remodel



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-10-2010)
Old 11-10-2010, 11:40 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nuckphoto View Post
Of course not.

Boy, I'm glad I didn't mention the dryer circuit.

Thanks, I think.
What ya did on that dryer circuit ?? did you ran 3 wire circuit instead of 4 wire circuit??

If any case that is true with 3 wire dryer circuit it no longer legal with new installment it was written way back 1999 code edition and just about every states allready have this code in effect for pretty long time.

The key issue when you plan to do any remodeling in the home YOU have to make sure you get the codes up to the date no matter how good the exsting wiring is at now. { I have few customer tell me the electrical system work just fine for many years .,, Pfft I don't really buy that one very well escpally with Kitchen and bathroom area they are the worst spot }

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Hung vs Single Hung CZSteve Remodeling 0 11-08-2010 07:29 AM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
GFCI breaker trips randomly BimmerRacer Electrical 40 09-21-2009 02:11 PM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 02:53 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts