#14 Pig Tails Ok With 20 Amp Recept Circuit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-13-2009, 10:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default

#14 pig tails ok with 20 amp recept circuit?


20 amp breaker protecting the circuit, with #12 romex to multiple
receptacle, using 15 amp recepticles. All ok so far.

How about the pigtails on the receptacle in the outlet boxes - can they be #14 or must they be #12 as well?

If must be #12, why - as each receptacle is rated for 15 amps?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2009, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


The circuit is rated at 20a so #12 must be used
Each plug is rated at 15a, 20a pass thru on the device



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2009, 10:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
The circuit is rated at 20a so #12 must be used
Each plug is rated at 15a, 20a pass thru on the device
Each recept is pigtailed - so it's electrically an extension of the recept connection - 20 amp would not pass through the device/pigtail. No?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2009, 10:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If one plug is pulling 12a - vac cleaner
and other devices in a power strip are pulling 8a
That would max out the circuit pulling 20a....thru 14g wire
Not allowed by code...not safe



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:11 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Got it now - two devices on the same recept. could exceed.

thx!
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yes, it would not happen that often -at least for me, but some people use 1500w space heaters & high draw items
And they only worry about the load on a circuit if the breaker kicks off



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


The screw connections on the outlets are rated at 20 amps.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts